Skip to main content

LIBR 5 (Rippel) - College Research and Databases

Library Information

Why the Library?

Course Overview

Introduction to research techniques in a college library using general research databases. Focus on campus and remote use of multi-disciplinary research databases, search strategies, distinction between scholarly journals and popular magazines, evaluation of relevant resources, recognition of plagiarism, and bibliographic citation of articles from magazine, journal, and newspaper databases.

Why the library?

When you search Google or other free search engines, you are only searching a small fraction of all of the information in existence.  There is much of the web that these search engines just cannot access.  Unlike these search engines, the library, through its online and physical collections, provides access to costly published materials, like books and articles that Google cannot provide access to, due to copyright restrictions. Published materials have gone through the expense and editing of the publishing process, which lends them a higher credibility (and expense). The college library specializes in providing you with free & efficient access to the expensive scholarly information that you need to use for academic research projects.

Click here to view an infographic on The Deep Web.

Examples of resources you might use for a research project:

  • Peer Reviewed Articles - find using library catalog and periodical databases
  • Scholarly Articles - find using library catalog and periodical databases
  • Books - find using the library catalog and eBook database
  • Reference - Find using library ereference databases and library catalog
  • Videos/educational DVDs - Find using library catalog and video databases
  • Credible websites - Find using Google

Librarian

Kali Rippel's picture
Kali Rippel
Contact:
925-424-1155