BIO 1B - Zoology: Encyclopedia and Reference Sources

Log in with your W# and Library Password.

• Your Library Password is the SAME as your ClassWeb PIN.
• If you don't know your PIN, go to the college's ClassWeb page, type in your W#, and select "Forgot PIN?".
• Whenever you change your ClassWeb PIN, it will also automatically update your library password.

The Audubon Society Handbook for Birders 

Call Number: QL677.5 K73

• Chapter 3 offers a guide to taking field notes, techniques for observing bird or any animal behavior, checklists, writing up observations. It categorizes behaviors: body care, feeding strategies, social displays.
• Example of a Field Journal p. 1
• Example of a Field Journal p. 2
• Example of a Field Report 

Field Notes on Science and Nature 

Call Number: QH 318.5 F54 2011 

• Many reproductions of various field notebooks; Chapter 12 lists best practices.

The Field Book Project

• An online location for scholars and others to visit when searching for field books and other field research materials.

There are many reference sources on animals to consult. Use the LPC Library OneSearch Catalog to find other encyclopedias and handbooks by conducting a keyword or subject search. This is a select list of recommended reference sources available in the LPC Library:

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, 2nd ed. (Online and Print)

• Available as a searchable e-book
• And in hard copy: Reference QL7 .G7813 2003 V.1-17

Birds of the World (BTW) (Online)

• Birds of the World contain 10,721 species accounts from every bird species in the world and is an entirely new scientific publication that merges and enhances content, data, multimedia, figures, and illustrations from four different ornithological volumes: Birds of North America (BNA), Neotropical Birds, Handbook of Birds of the World (HBW Alive), and Bird Families of the World. This content is now delivered on a fast, new digital platform and is integrated with multimedia from the Cornell Lab of Ornithology’s Macaulay Library and millions of bird records from eBird.

Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior (ed. Bekoff), 2004. (Print Only)

• Reference QL750.3.E53 2004 v.1-3

Handbook of the Birds of the World, 1992 - 2011. (Print Only)

• Reference QL673.H265 1992-2011 v.1 - 16

Magill's Encyclopedia of Science: Animal Life (Ebook)

Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior (ed. Choe). 2019 (Print Only)

• Reference QL750.3 .E533 2019