Online Titles
African American History Online - This database includes subject entries, biographies, primary sources, images and videos, timelines, maps and charts, etc. from over 110 books and encyclopedias.
Off-campus Access:
Log in with W# and Class-Web Password.
Reference Books - African American History and Culture
Use reference books for background information, broad overviews and summaries. The reference collection includes general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias, biographies, directories, almanacs, atlases, etc. Many also contain bibliographies for further research.
Reference books cannot be checked out from the library but may be photocopied.
There are many specialized or subject encyclopedias on African Americans. This is a list of a few recommeded ones:
Affirmative Action by Call Number: Ref HF5549.5 .A34 A426 2004ISBN: 1573565199Publication Date: 2004-06-30
Almanac of African American Heritage by Call Number: Ref E185 .A448 2001ISBN: 0735202265Publication Date: 2000-01-15
The New York Public Library African American Desk Reference by Call Number: E185 .A2528 1999ISBN: 0471239240Publication Date: 1999-09-30
African Americans Frontiers by Call Number: Ref E444 .G68 2000ISBN: 0874368677Publication Date: 2000-11-21Book is also available for check out in book stacks
Atlas of African-American History by Call Number: Ref E185 .C55 2007ISBN: 9780816067138Publication Date: 2007-11-01
Civil Rights in America by Call Number: Ref JC599.U5 S53 1998ISBN: 078760612XPublication Date: 1998-05-01
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance by Call Number: Ref NX512.3.A35 E53 2004ISBN: 157958389XPublication Date: 2004-10-17
Great African-American Women by Call Number: Ref E185.96 .L95 2000ISBN: 0517162164Publication Date: 2000-10-03
The Harlem Renaissance by Call Number: Ref PS153 .N5 H245 2003ISBN: 0787666181Publication Date: 2002-10-11
The World Book Encyclopedia by Call Number: Ref AE5 .W55 2005ISBN: 0716601052Publication Date: 2004-12-01
