Audio, Video, and Image Databases: Music Online

You DO NOT have to pay to listen to the streaming audio.  Just click the play button next to the song title.

However, a small number of songs will have a Download icon next to the play button.  Clicking on this icon will take you through the process of BUYING songs using a Google account. 

This service is NOT sponsored by the library.  

Music Online consists of the following five streaming audio collections:

Jazz Music Library - A comprehensive collection of jazz covering a variety of artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.

Contemporary World Music - Contains genres from all regions of the world such as reggae, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, etc

Smithsonian Global Sound - Contains international/world music audio archives including recordings from Smithsonian Folkways.

Classical Music Library - A collection of 50,000-plus tracks of classical recordings covering music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.

American Song - Includes songs from America’s history such as songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys, the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, etc.

AND THAT'S NOT ALL!... There's poetry, speeches, comedy, sound effects, stage and screen, science and nature, music and language instruction!!!

          Browse Genres to see more!!!

Create an account or profile if you want to save any songs or playlists for listening later or sharing with students.

Click Sign In from the upper right corner

On the log in page, click register.

However, you do not need to create an account or profile to simply search/browse or listen to music. 

Browse Tips:

• Browsing is a good way to explore all audio tracks, biographical info, or liner notes.
• Browse in a number of ways including composer, album, genre, song title, instruments,  cultural groups, and time period.  
• Click on any access point in the BROWSE column on the left side of the page or the BROWSE drop-down menu along the top of the page
• Expand an item by clicking on the + symbol.
• You can sort your results by any column by clicking on that  column heading.
• The numbers in parenthesis indicate the approximate number of audio tracks available.

Search Tips:

Tip 1: Keep searches simple and specific.

Tip 2: Try double-checking your spelling before giving up a search.

Tip 3: Word order, case and punctuation are not important. For example, John Coltrane may be entered: Coltrane John

Tip 4: You can enter more than one term in each search box.  For instance, if you wish to find all text with either the piano or harmonica, use the Basic search box and enter: piano harmonica

Tip 5: Enter terms in the singular, e.g. "opera" not "operas"

To listen to a song, click the title or the play button.

A small audio player window will open. 

Use the basic music controls to start, pause, etc. 

To move through the song click on time counter.

Liner notes are available for most albums.  Click on "View Liner Note" (pdf) link.

Playlists are collections of materials you group together and can be created by any user of the database. You can add audio tracks, albums, and/or other items such as links to any URL. Playlists can be annotated, edited, copied, and shared.

Playlists can be used as lists of personal favorites, class listening assignments, or as a teaching resource for in-class use.

When you have found the item you want, just choose Add to Playlist.  

When you create a playlist, you can indicate who should see this playlist. Your options are:

• Just me: This keeps your playlist private.
• Just my class or group: This shares your playlist with a group you designate.
• Everyone at my institution: This shares your playlist with anyone at LPC. This is a good option if you want to share a playlist with your class(es).
• Everyone: Your playlist becomes public and anyone can see your playlist.
   

Remember to sign in (or establish a profile) to save your playlists from session to session!

UNDER CONSTRUCTION - DO NOT USE 3/12/2020

To put an audio track, album, or playlist in any document, website, or Blackboard course, click on the Embed/Link icon (looks like a globe with a chain link).

Embed/Link icons appear under the song title or next to the title in an audio player window.

Copy and paste the URL to your document, website, or Bb course.

Example: http://muco.alexanderstreet.com.proxy1.clpccd.cc.ca.us/View/284945

In Bb, use the Create External Link function to add the Permalink URL.*

*Students and faculty accessing this link from off campus will be required to log in with their W# and library password.