Periodicals: Scholarly/Peer Reviewed vs. Popular
Peer review is the process of submitting drafts of articles for critical assessment by experts in the field or discipline before articles are accepted for publication in scholarly journals. The peer review process helps ensure the quality of informtion that is published in that field.
Scholarly Journals Vs. Popular Magazines: What are the Differences?
Did you know?
Did you know?
Access online databases from home, using your W- ID & PIN!!!
Sample Search Terms
- drug abuse
- drug addiction
- compulsive behavior
- addicts
- substance abuse
- opioid abuse
- heroin abuse
- methamphetamine abuse
- addiction AND family
Narrow your search by adding:
- treatment
- rehabilitation
- recovery
- prevention
Journals, Magazines, & Newspapers in the Library's Databases
To find articles published in magazines, journals, newspapers or other periodicals, you will need to use the library's online databases. You are likely to find relevant information in these recommended online databases:
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowNonpartisan reporting and analysis of current controversial social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Weekly issues are devoted to a single topic and feature an overview, background, chronology, current situation, outlook, and bibliography.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles published by the American Psychological Association (APA). - Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
