Skip to main content

American Indian Resources and Sherman Alexie's Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian: Journals, Magazines and Newspaper Articles

A library research guide created for Michelle Gonzales' English 105 (Puente Program) class.

Login Instructions

If you are using any of the library's online databases from off-campus, you will need to log in.

Username: Your W Number*

Password: First 2 letters of first name, first 2 letters of last name, and last 4 digits of W# (i.e. jado6789)

* Don't know your W#, look it up in Class-Web.

Library Research Databases

To find articles published in journals, magazines, newspapers or other periodicals, you will need to use the library's online databases. 

In the following databases, you are likely to find relevant information on topics related to the American Indians:

History Databases:

America: History & Life with Full Text

American History in Video

History Reference Center (EBSCO)

Salem History Online

Biographies (information about author, important people, etc.):

Biography in Context

Controversial Issues (Contemporary issue concerning American Indians):

CQ Researcher

Opposing Viewpoints

Ethnic News and Culture (Native American people, culture, news):

Encyclopedia of Cultures & Daily Life

Ethnic NewsWatch

General Reference Information:

Academic Search Complete

*Additional databases can be found on the LPC Library website:

Databases Listed by Subject

Databases Listed- A to Z

Sample Search Terms

Sample Search Terms:

  • "American Indian"
  • "Native American"
  • "tribal gambling"
  • "Indian gaming"
  • Indian and casino
  • tribe and casino
  • "Bay Area" and tribes
  • "Coer d'Alene" and tribe
  • "Indian Reservation"
  • "American Indian" and (famous or celebrity)

Ask a librarian if you need help developing your search terms.


Searching Tips:

*Use quotation marks around phrases:

example: "American Indian"

*Use connecting (boolean) words such as "and", "or" to connect multiple terms or phrases:

example #1: tribe and casino

example #2: tribal and (gaming or casino)

Ask LPC Library