Skip to main content

BIO 30 (Judd) - Intro to College Biology: Scholarly Journal Articles

A research guide designed to support Dr. Judd's Biology 31 formal report assignment on enzyme behavior (lab exercise #4).

Suggested Search Terms

Below is a list of suggested search terms as related to the assignment:

-amylase

-"salivary amylase"

-amylase and saliva

-amylase and enzyme

-amylase and digestion

-amylase and stomach

-amylase and protein

-amylase and starch

-"bacterial amylase"

-enzymes and function

-enzyme and concentration

-amylase and concentration

-amylase and temperature

-enzyme and temperature

-amylase and pH

-enzyme and pH

*If you need help coming up with search terms, please contact a librarian.*

Off Campus Access to Databases

Accessing LPC Library databases from off-campus requires the following information:

 W#

(be sure to include the letter W)

and

8 digit library PIN

(first two letters of first name, first two letters of last name, and last four numbers of your W).

Other Resources-ValleyCare Health Library

The ValleyCare Health Library in Pleasanton is open to the public and offers free access to easy to understand, up-to-date health and medical information. 

http://www.valleycare.com/health/health.html

Resources available to the public include:

  • Searching assistance from a medical librarian and an RN
  • Databases with full-text medical journals
  • Access to reliabe, evaluated health related web sites
  • Books, DVDs, posters and other resources available for check-out

Databases

Suggested databases to use for locating biology journal articles:

Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition

Biological Sciences Collection

MEDLINE

Academic Search Complete


*Database Research Tip:

To limit your database search to only scholarly/academic/peer-reviewed journals, check/select the box labeled "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals". 

Also, be sure to check/select the box labeled "Full Text".
This will ensure that you receive full/complete articles in your search results.

Database Searching Tips

Search suggestions for locating scholarly journal articles using the library databases:

1) Determine the key words/terms for your search.
For example, the key terms could be: enzyme, protein, saliva, amylase, digestion

2) If one of your key words/terms is a phrase, use quotation marks around that phrase.
Example: "salivary amylase"
(This will ensure that your search returns articles that are specifically about salivary amylase, not just about amylase in general or articles that simply contain the word saliva.)

3)When searching for an article containing more than one key term, use a connector word such as and to join the two (or more) terms.
Example: digestion and "salivary amylase" 

(You can use the word and to connect as many terms/phrases as you like, just be aware that the more connector words you use, the more limiting your search will be and the less articles you will see displayed in your results.)

4) If you are having trouble locating relevant articles, you may need to broaden or change your search strategy.
Here are a few suggestions that may help with your search:

-Try searching with synonyms (words with similar meanings) of your key terms.

-Try removing one or more of your search terms to broaden your search


**As always, if you need research assistance, please contact a librarian.  A librarian can suggest further search terms, strategies, or databases to try.**

Ask LPC Library