Online Titles
- African-American History Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides a collection of reference sources including books, images, videos, and primary sources about the people, events, and topics important to the study of African-American history.
Type "photographers" in the search box.
Off-campus Access:
Log in with W# and Library Password.
Password: First 2 letters of first name, first 2 letters of last name, and last 4 digits of your W#
Example: jado6789
e-Reference: CREDO
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias on different subjects to help jump-start research projects with topic guides, images, and videos. - Salem Press Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to content from Salem Press reference books, covering literature, history, science, and health.
Covers the decades from the 1920s through the 2000s.
Encyclopedias in Reference Collection
Use reference books for background information, broad overviews and summaries. The reference collection includes general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias, biographies, directories, almanacs, atlases, etc. Many also contain bibliographies for further research.
- Reference books cannot be checked out from the library but may be photocopied.
Use the LPC Library Catalog to find other encyclopedias by conducting a keyword or subject search.
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century PhotographyCall Number: Ref TR642 .E5 2006 V.1-3Publication Date: 2005
The first two encyclopedias are on photography. However, for this assignment you will likely consult sources in different subject areas depending on the photograph you have selected. This is a list of specialized encyclopedias to give you an idea of the variety of subjects available:
- Encyclopedia of U.S. Political HistoryCall Number: Ref E183 .E53 2010 V.1-7Publication Date: 2010Available in ebook format. Check online catalog.
- Encyclopedia of War and American SocietyCall Number: Ref E181 .E634 2006 V.1-3Publication Date: 2005Article on Combat Zone Photography.
- Encyclopedia of African-American Civil RightsCall Number: Ref E185.61 .E54 1992Publication Date: 1992
Asian American History and CultureCall Number: Ref E184 .A75 A8287 2010 V. 1-2Publication Date: 2009
The Focal Encyclopedia of Photography: Digital Imaging, Theory and Applications, History, and ScienceCall Number: Ref. TR9 .F6 2007Contains a chapter on major themes and photographers of the 20th century.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil RightsCall Number: Ref. E185.61 .E54 2003
World War II and the Postwar Years in AmericaCall Number: Ref. E806 .Y73 2010
Encyclopedia of the Great DepressionCall Number: Ref. E806 .E63 2004
