E-Reference Materials
To use any of the library's E-Reference Books while you are off-campus, you will need to log in.
Username: Your W Number*
Password:
- First 2 letters of first name,
- First 2 letters of last name,
- Last 4 digits of W#
- Example: jado6789
* Don't know your W#, look it up in Class-Web.
Bloom's Literary Reference Online - Features content from Facts On File's extensive print literature reference collection (including essays by Harold Bloom) which examines great writers, important works, memorablecharacters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
Credo Reference - Nearly 4 million full-text entries in subjects from Art to Technology for your research, paper writing and studying needs. Credo brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, videos and much more. Search under the subject Literature for materials on Shakespeare and related topics.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - eReference book collection - Search across all GVRL subject encyclopedias. Subjects covered: arts, environment, general reference, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, and social science. Search under the subject Literature for reference materials on Shakespeare.
Shakespeare for Students - eReference book - Collection of essays by Shakespeare scholars that have been selected for students at the high school or undergraduate college level. Each entry includes an introduction; a plot synopsis; a character list; a discussion of the work's principal themes; information about the style and literary devices used; a conversation about the work's historical context; and a critical overview.
Encyclopedias in Reference Collection
A Companion to Shakespeare's Works by Call Number: Ref. PR2976 .C572 2003ISBN: 0631226338Publication Date: 2003"Whether for the student wishing for an overview of critical approaches or anxious to fill in the gaps in his Shakespearean culture, for those wishing to catch up on the diversity of literary theories, or for the inquisitive browser, this set of volumes assuredly charts the map of current criticism."
A Shakespeare Glossary by Call Number: Ref. PR2892 .O6 1986ISBN: 0198125216Publication Date: 1986Explains "...those words whose senses or connotations would be unfamiliar to a modern reader."
All Things Shakespeare: An Encyclopedia of Shakespeare's World by Call Number: Ref. PR2892 .O56 2002ISBN: 0313315035Publication Date: 2002"More than 200 articles, most accompanied by vivid illustrations, combine rich historical detail with informative, insightful descriptions on the form and function of obscure and everyday items found in Shakespeare's works."
Shakespeare for Students. Book II: Critical interpretations of All's Well That Ends Well, Antony and Cleopatra, The Comedy of Errors, Coriolanus, Measure for Measure, Richard II, The Sonnets, The Winter's Tale by Call Number: Ref. PR2987 .S469 2000ISBN: 0787643629Publication Date: 2000
Shakespeare for Students. Book II: Critical interpretations of Henry IV, Part One, Henry V, King Lear, Much Ado About Nothing, Richard III, The Taming of the Shrew, The Tempest, Twelfth Night by Call Number: Ref. PR2987 .S468 1997ISBN: 0787601578Publication Date: 1997
Shakespeare's World and Work by Call Number: Ref. PR2892 .S56 2001 v. 1-3ISBN: 0684806290Publication Date: 2001-03-08"A vivid and multifaceted introduction to the personaliteis, setting, and events that made Renaissance England so rich and diverse a backdrop for the poems and plays that have established Shakespeare as our most reliable guide to the mileposts of life." With over 200 illustrations.
The Greenwood Companion to Shakespeare by Call Number: Ref. PR2976 .G739 2005ISBN: 0313327793Publication Date: 2005"By collecting guides to all of Shakespeare's works into a single work and imposing a strict order and consistent approach, the Greenwood Companion provides students with a synoptic view of the Shakesperean corpus that is singularly valuable. It can be recommended without hesitation for undergraduates, as well as advanced high school students and general readers."
