Science Journal Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects. - Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Suitable for research in botany, microbiology, zoology, and environmental studies. Includes 8,000+ peer-reviewed journals and other publications such as conference proceedings, patents, and technical reports. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. JSTOR does not contain recently published articles. LPC's subscription includes all 16 JSTOR multi-disciplinary collections: Arts & Sciences I - XV and Life Sciences. - ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new windowContains Elsevier’s collection of peer-reviewed scholarly journals.
Sample Search Terms
- pollen tube germination
- gibberellin treatment
- medicinal plants
- forest ecology
- desert plants
- leaf damage
- transgenic plants
- salinity tolerance
- salt tolerance
- salinity stress
- sodium toxicity
- NaCl
- mechanism or mechanisms
- plant growth
- chloride
- Brassica rapa
Botany Journals
Examples of Journals Available in LPC Library Databases:
Academic Search Ultimate:
- Botany
- Botanical Studies
- Annual Review of Plan Biology
- New Phytologist
Biological Sciences Collection:
- The Botanical Review
- Journal of Plant Sciences
- Plant Physiology
- Trees
OneSearch and Rapid Request
OneSearch
Most students know to look up books using the library catalog (OneSearch). However, at the LPC Library, students can find a lot more than just books in the library catalog. For example, the OneSearch catalog includes streaming videos, encyclopedias, audiobooks, AND journal articles.
There are benefits to going directly to a science database, like the ones listed above, to find journal articles. There are also good reasons to use OneSearch to find articles. Two of the main reasons are:
- By doing just one search, researchers can retrieve results from across multiple databases.
- OneSearch shows students resources beyond what is available at the LPC Library. As part of a consortium of academic libraries, LPC Library is able to provide students access to more research materials.
Rapid Request
This document delivery service gives LPC researchers easy, convenient, and direct access to articles available through other college libraries. Articles are emailed directly to the user's primary email address as listed on ClassWeb. It generally takes 24-48 hours for the requested article to be delivered. It's a simple process:
- Search for a topic and scan the result list
- Notice that some articles show a status of "Rapid Request: Get it for me from other libraries"
- Click on the link and follow the instructions to sign in to My Account
- LPC WID and six-digit ClassWeb PIN
- Check your inbox...some articles have been known to show up in less than 4 hours
Please contact a librarian with any questions about Rapid Request.
