Skip to main content

BUS 30 (Coleman) - Research Paper and Presentation: Journal, Magazine, and Newspaper Articles

Off Campus Access to Databases

Accessing LPC Library databases from off-campus requires the following information:

 W#

(be sure to include the letter W)

and

8 digit library PIN

(first two letters of first name, first two letters of last name, and last four numbers of your W).

Scholarly Journals Vs. Popular Magazines

What are the Differences? LPC Library Short Guide.

Scholarly Journals or Popular Magazines:

Databases (Magazines, Journals, e-Books, etc.)

To locate magazines and scholarly/academic journal articles relating to your film, the following LPC library databases are recommended.

Database Searching Tips

Search terms are important for good results. The computer is looking only for the words in the search box. Generally in the Basic Search mode, the computer is only looking for the search terms in: Title, Abstract and Subject Headings.

Subject Headings are listed after the magazine/journal title information. When a good article is found, look at the Subject Headings. Repeat those terms in your search to find more articles on the same subject.

1) Determine the key words:

2) Use quotation marks around any phrases

3) Look at Subject Headings listed under the Title information

4) Having trouble getting results? Broaden or change your search strategy.


**As always, if you need research assistance, please contact a librarian.  A librarian can suggest further search terms, strategies, or databases to try.**

Peer Review

Locating Scholarly/Peer-reviewed Journal Articles 

Peer reviewed is the process of submitting drafts of articles for critical assessment by experts in the field or discipline before articles are accepted for publication in scholarly journals.  The peer review process helps ensure the quality of informtion that is published in that field.

To limit your periodical database search to only include scholarly/academic/peer-reviewed journals, check/select the box labeled "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" within the search interface for the database. 

Or look for the icon in front of the article. Each databases has a specific icon that represents peer-reviewed journals.  This icon is found before each entry.

Also, be sure to check/select the box labeled "Full Text".
This will ensure that you receive full/complete articles in your search results.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               

Ask LPC Library