This is the "Specialized Encyclopedias" page of the "African Americans: History and Culture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

African Americans: History and Culture 

This library guide is designed to help you do research using resources available at the LPC Library on the history and culture of African Americans.
Last update: Jun 1st, 2010 URL: http://libraryguides.laspositascollege.edu/africanamericans  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

Specialized Encyclopedias            Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Online Titles

African American History Online - This database includes subject entries, biographies, primary sources, images and videos, timelines, maps and charts, etc. from over 110 books and encyclopedias.

Off-campus Access:

Log in with W# and Library Password.

Password: First 2 letters of first name, first 2 letters of last name, and last 4 digits of your W#

Example: jado6789

 
 

Encyclopedias in Reference Collection

Use reference books for background information, broad overviews and summaries. The reference collection includes general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias, biographies, directories, almanacs, atlases, etc. Many also contain bibliographies for further research.

Reference books cannot be checked out from the library but may be photocopied.

There are many specialized or subject encyclopedias on African Americans.  This is a list of a few recommeded ones:

Affirmative Action: An Encyclopedia Ref HF5549.5.A34.A426 2004

African American Almanac Ref E185.A37 2000

African American Desk Reference Ref E185.A2528 1999

African American Frontiers [also in stacks] Ref E444.G68 2000

Africana: The Encyclopedia of African and African American Experience Ref DT14.A37435 2005

African-American Atlas: Black History & Culture - An Illustrated Reference Ref E185.A79 1998

Almanac of African American Heritage Ref E185.A448 2001

Civil Rights [also in stacks] Ref JC599.U5.C5618 2004

Civil rights in America: 1500 to the Present Ref JC599.U5 S53 1998

Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance Ref NX512.3.A35.E53 2004

Great African-American Women Ref E185.96.L95 2000

Harlem Renaissance Ref PS153.N5.H245 2003

World Book Encyclopedia Ref AE5.W55 2005

Use the LPC Library Catalog to find other encyclopedias by conducting a keyword or subject search.

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Frances Hui
Contact Info:
Reference Desk (925)424-1150
Circulation Desk (925)424-1151
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait