Evaluating Websites
The quality of the information you find on the Web varies tremendously so it is always a good idea to check the information against another source. As with all information resources, whether in print or on the Internet, you evaluate its quality based on the following criteria:
- Accuracy (Is it free from mistakes and errors?)
- Authority (What are the qualifications of the author?)
- Objectivity (Is there any strong bias?)
- Currency (Is the information up to date?)
- Coverage (To what extent is the topic explored?)
That's just the basics. Learn more!
Resource Websites
National Archives - Black History Resource Collection - National Archives' resource list of websites with information on African American history and culture, such as records searches and photograph galleries.
American Memory from the Library of Congress - Primary source collections from the Library of Congress National Digital Library Program. Includes historical documents, narratives, photographs, music such as 1939 Lomax field recordings, African American Experience in Ohio 1850-1920, and more.
Citizen King (American Experience) - Supporting website for the PBS film about Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
SlaveryStories.org - True stories about slavery in the US from the perspective of the slaves themselves.
Search Engines
Google Advanced Search - Information on educational and governmental websites tend to have more reliable information. In the advance search, along with your search terms, enter .edu or .gov in the box labeled "Search within a site or domain:".
ipl2 - ipl2 is an annotated collection of Internet resources, selected by ipl2 staff for their usefulness in providing accurate, factual information on a particular topic or topics. This subject list shows some of the ones on African Americans. You can also search by topic or search the subject directory.
