Insects and Spiders
Selected Internet Resources on Insects and Spiders
AntWeb - provides information and high quality color images of many of the approximately 10,000 known species of ants. AntWeb is hosted by The California Academy of Sciences.
Bohart Museum of Entomology (UC Davis) - Click on the Navigation links on the left to find Insect Information Sheets, Insect Keys, Insect Photo Gallery
Borror Lab Home Page - “houses one of the largest collections of recorded animal sounds in the world.” Search by common or scientific name from the “approximately 28,000 recordings of over 1000 species of animals.”
Bug Bytes - a collection of more than forty insect sound files by species name or subject, including are various larvae and adult insect feedings; movements of soil invertebrates; insects in plants; wing vibrations, and more
Butterflies of California - Swallowtails (Family Papilionidae) Whites and Sulphurs (Family Pieridae), Gossamer-wing Butterflies (Family Lycaenidae), Metalmarks (Family Riodinidae), Brush-footed Butterflies (Family Nymphalidae), and Skippers (Family Hesperiidae)
California Academy of Sciences - Steinhart Aquarium, Natural History Museum, Morrison Planetarium: " ...devoted to the study, display and interpretation of scientific collections which inspire people of all ages to explore the rich variety of life on Earth"
California Dragonflies and Damselflies: AKA California Odonata - "information on and photographs of all the species of dragonflies and damselflies in California..."
California's Wildlife - information on the 600+ amphibians, birds, mammals, and reptiles found in California: including name, distribution, habitat requirements, life history, and bibliography (Zeiner, D.C., ed. California's Wildlife. 1988-1990.
CalPhotos: Animals - "...thousands of photographs of amphibians, birds, fish, insects, invertebrates, mammals, and reptiles." Searchable and browsable. UC, Berkeley.
Family Scarabaeidae - "The family Scarabaeidae is a remarkable group of beetles, many of which are the largest insect species on the planet. This site profiles the natural history of 25 of the most spectacular ones from around the world, with details on the life cycles of many"
Infrared Zoo - features thermal infrared photographs of dozens of animals including birds, mammals, reptiles and amphibians, and insects and arachnids, including an illustrated essay on the differences between warm-blooded and cold-blooded animals
Insect Mouthparts - a guide to illustrate the functions of insect chewing, siphoning, piercing, sponging, and combinations
Insectclopedia - insect information, including a section where species are covered alphabetically, insect control, research, identification, and pests found in crops, forests, gardens, homes, and lawns
Los Angeles Spider Survey - features information about common spiders in Los Angeles, an image gallery, and a brief overview of spider biology
The NBII: Your Home for Biological Information on the Web - (National Biological Information Infrastructure) use the NBII to answer a wide range of questions related to the management, use, or conservation of this nation's biological resources.
Nomina Insecta Nearctica - A Checklist of the Insects of North America
Pollination Home Page - general information on bees and pollination as well as links to practical resources for growers and beekeepers
Pronunciation of Biological Latin: Including Taxonomic Names of Plants and Animals - covers vowels, stress on syllables, commemorative names, and other matters
Social Insects World Wide Web - Ants, bees, termites, wasps... from the American Museum of Natural History
Spiders and Other Arachnids at UC Riverside - articles, distribution map, and identification information for brown recluse spiders; and facts and photographs of other types of spiders (including hobo spiders and daddy-longlegs)
Tarantulas - An introduction which provides general comments on each species temperament and general location with color photos of each tarantula discussed. General care instructions for keeping tarantulas as pets are also provided
Tarantula's Burrow - searchable databases about tarantulas and scorpions
Ticks Commonly Encountered in California - brief profiles and photographs of soft ticks (pajahuello, spinose ear, poultry) and hard ticks (winter, Pacific Coast, Rocky Mountain wood, American dog, and western black legged ticks), includes background information on tick biology
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service: National Image Library - images of "wildlife, plants, National Wildlife Refuges and other scenics, as well as wildlife management work"
