Skip to main content

PSYC 16 (Ruys) - Animal Behavior: Welcome!

Select print and online resources on human and non-human animal behavior to guide students to research topics for their research proposals.

PSYC 16 Research Project

This research guide recommends scholarly resources and other resources to help you complete your research proposal for Psyc 16. Use the tabs above to browse through the library's books, article databases, web resources, APA citation style resources, and tips on effective research.

General Information

Did you know?

Access online databases from home, using your W- ID & PIN!!!

When logging in from home, make sure the W in your W-ID is capitalized and that you use the pin format of the first two letters of your first name, the first two letters of your last name, and the last four digits of your W-ID.

Sources

Acceptable sources for this project 

(minimum 5 sources, 8 recommended):

  • books
  • library database articles: 
    • magazine
    • scholarly journal articles
      • literature review
      • research articles
  • credible web sources

Why the Library?

Unlike Google, or other free search engines, the library provides access to costly published materials, like books and articles. Published materials have gone through the expense and editing of the publishing process, which lends them a higher credibility. The college library specializes in providing you with free & efficient access to the expensive scholarly information that you need to use for your course assignments.

Examples of resources:

  • Peer Reviewed Articles - find using periodical databases
  • Scholarly Articles - find using periodical databases
  • Books - find using the library catalog
  • Reference - Find using ereference databases and library catalog
  • Videos/educational DVDs - Find using video databases
  • Credible websites - Find using Google

Librarian

Charlotte Bagby's picture
Charlotte Bagby
Contact:
(925) 424-1150
Fall 2017 Ref. Desk hrs:
Mon. 10:30-2
Wed. 10:30--5

Upcoming Events