Skip to main content

SPCH 1 (Jacobs): Researching Current Events: Topics & Research

This guide will help students choose a current event and find credible sources to support their informative speeches.

INFORMATIVE SPEECH

Group Presentation:

  • Groups are to choose a current event and relate it to larger social, political, and economic issues. 
  • Research must include 3 credible sources verbally cited in the speech.
  • A bibliography must be turned in with the full-sentence outline

The Research Process

Before starting an assignment, make sure that you have read it through completely and asked your professor for clarification on any parts that may be confusing.  Create a "plan of action" or "To Do" list with dates to make the assignment less overwhelming.

A good topic is….

  • Interesting to you.
  • Explainable in 3 - 4 words (more than just one variable).
  • Controversial or problematic (i.e. addresses a social issue).
  • Appropriately sized for your assignment.
  • In-line with the assignment guidelines.

If you are having trouble thinking of a topic for your project, the databases, Opposing Viewpoints or CQ Researcher can be a great resources, since they cover current issues. Hint: If your topic is listed in Opposing Viewpoints or CQ Researcher it can be a good resource to use, since it meets the CRAAP criteria (See "Evaluating Materials" below).

Developing a research question can make the research process more efficient, by providing a direction for your project.

A good research question...

  • Has at least one variable.
  • Is open-ended.
  • Is not too broad or too narrow for the assignment.
  • Is one that you think you will find enough information to answer.
  • In-line with the assignment guidelines.

Use materials to learn about a topic and to write or present about the topic. Use materials in your writing by citing directly using quotation marks, paraphrasing sentences or paragraphs; or by summarizing the entire item. Always make sure to use an in-text citation after each quote, paraphrase, or summary of an item, then have the full citation for the item you used in your Bibliography to avoid plagiarism.

Examples of resources:

  • Peer Reviewed Articles - find using periodical databases
  • Scholarly Articles - find using periodical databases
  • Books - find using the library catalog
  • Reference - Find using ereference databases and library catalog
  • Psychology videos/educational DVDs - Find using video databases
  • Credible websites - Find using Google

Evaluate each resource that you come across, including websites, by asking the following questions:

Current?  Is this current to my topic?

Relevant? How does this help me with my topic?

Accurate?  Does the author or entity support their statements with data or citations?

Authority?  Is the author or entity an expert and qualified to write on this topic?

Purpose?  Is this item written for the general public or for scholarly reasons?

This is where you combine your own ideas with what you have learned from the resources/materials you found on your topic to tell the story of the issue or topic.  A great way to start this step is to create an outline, using the information you gathered from the resources, of what you would like to write about or present on the topic.  

A great resource for students having trouble writing, is our on-campus Tutorial Center.

You must cite the sources that you use to avoid plagiarism. All direct quotes, paraphrases, and summaries must be cited. In other words, all ideas or facts taken from some other writer, even though in your own words, must be cited. All creative works are copyrighted material, so it is PLAGIARISM if you use ideas from a resource without citing that resource

For each source collect…

  1. Author(s) and/or Editor(s).
  2. Date of publication.
  3. Article title.
  4. Publication Title (title of overall item that the article or item was published within).
  5. Publication information; including, edition, volume, pages, place, & publisher.
  6. URL or database name (if found online).

*Not all sources will have all of these elements & some sources may need additional elements, but this should be enough to get you started in Noodlebib or to at least be able to track down your source.

View our Citation Help Library Guide for more information on citing and the different styles

CHOOSE A TOPIC

Newspaper & Magazine Headlines

Scan the headlines of reputable print or online newspapers or magazines for ideas on current topics.

Examples:

San Francisco Chronicle

LA Times

New York Times

Washington Post

BBC

TIME magazine

 

 

Library Databases

Browse these two library databases for current topics.

The Web

Librarian

Charlotte Bagby's picture
Charlotte Bagby
Contact:
(925) 424-1150
Fall 2017 Ref. Desk hrs:
Mon. 10:30-2
Wed. 10:30-5

Contact a librarian

If you need research assistance, please contact an LPC librarian. 

Reference Desk phone:
925-424-1150

email: lpclibrarian@laspositascollege.edu

Library Hours - Fall 2017:
(August 16 - December 19)

Mon-Thurs:  8:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Fri:    8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.
Sat:  Closed
Sun: Closed

*See library website for holiday closures:  http://www.laspositascollege.edu/library/