Start Finding Sources with OneSearch
OneSearch is a broad search across many different subjects, databases, and resources. If you are not finding what you are looking for here, use the box below to hone in on subject-specific resources.
Advanced SearchPowered by 
Find Sources
Books written by scholars are a good source of information for many topics.
Key Features of Scholarly Books:
- Written on a broad subject
- Easier to read than journal articles, and written for a broad audience
- Often undergo a peer-review process
- May contain a collection of chapters written by different authors
- Contain less recent information due to the lengthy publication process
Remember: You may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book!
Also known as "Scholarly Articles," "Refereed Articles," or "Academic Articles."
These articles are basically the "bread-and-butter" sources for scholarly research. They are used in every discipline.
Why You Should Use Them:
- Information is based on research and expertise
- Information is detailed and focused on a narrow topic
- The peer-review process (mostly) ensures that the information is accurate
- They add to a growing understanding of a topic by contributing new ideas
Databases for Health Articles:
- Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition: Over 550 magazines and journals in nursing, medicine, and allied health disciplines.
- MEDLINE: Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
- ScienceDirect College Edition: Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities
- PsycArticles: A source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 60 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA).
- Films on Demand Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Films and documentaries on a variety of academic disciplines in the arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, and practical skill building. - Docuseek
Docuseek streams documentaries on social and environmental issues. Includes independent films from renowned leaders in documentary distribution such as Bullfrog, Icarus, BBC, Fanlight, First Run Features, Good Docs, Women Make Movies, etc.
- Academic Video OnlineMulti-subject streaming video collection of 67,000+ films and documentaries.
- Healthy People 2030A U.S. government project identifying several health issues, with information on improving these issues by 2030. Open the site and click on "Objectives & Data." Topics include tobacco use, sleep health, physical activity, nutrition and weight status, and more.
- MedlinePlusAn online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
- Health.govThis site is coordinated by the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Women's HealthThe CDC is the nation’s leading science-based service organization protecting public health.
- Nutrition.govServes as a gateway to reliable information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety for consumers. The site is updated on an ongoing basis by registered dietitians at the Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) located at the National Agricultural Library (NAL), U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA).
- American Psychological Association: Women and GirlsResources, podcasts, news articles, and more, directed at women's and girl's physical, psychological, and social experiences.
- Mayo Clinic: Health LibraryMayo Clinic is a nonprofit organization "committed to clinical practice, education, and research, providing whole-person care to everyone who needs healing."
- World Health Organization: Women's HealthWHO coordinates "the world’s response to health emergencies, promote well-being, prevent disease and expand access to health care."