Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SPAN 1A (Suarez): Specialized Encyclopedias

A research guide on topics related to the film "The Fight in the Fields".

Online Titles

Biography Resource Center - A comprehensive database of biographical information on over 380,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.  Includes Cesar Chavez, Dolores Huerta, and other notable Hispanic Americans.

Off-campus Access:

Log in with W# and Library Password.

Password: First 2 letters of first name, first 2 letters of last name, and last 4 digits of W#

  • Example: jado6789

Encyclopedias in Reference Collection

Use reference books for background information, broad overviews and summaries. The reference collection includes general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias, biographies, directories, almanacs, atlases, etc. Many also contain bibliographies for further research.

* Reference books cannot be checked out from the library but may be photocopied.

There are many specialized or subject encyclopedias on Mexican Americans, unions, farm workers, Latino/Latina plays and literature.  This is a list of a few recommeded ones:

Encylopedia of Cesar Chavez: The Farm Workers' Fight for Rights and Justice  Ref HD6509 C48 B79 2013

The Mexican American Experience  Ref E184 .M5 M4535 2003

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States Ref E184 .S75 O97 2005 v. 1-4

The Hispanic Presence in North America: From 1942 to Present  Ref E184 .S75 S375 1991

Encyclopedia Latina  Ref E184 .S75 E587 2005 v. 1-4

Latinas in the United States Ref E184 .S75 L35 2006 v. 1-3

Latinos in the Arts Ref E184 .S75 O83 2007

Encyclopedia of U.S. Labor and Working-Class History  Ref HD8066 .A78 2006 V. 1-3  Ref E184 .M5 M4535 2003

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature  Ref PS153 .H56 G74 2008 V. 1-3

Hispanic Literature of the United States  Ref PS153 .H56 K36 2003

Use the LPC Library Catalog to find other encyclopedias by conducting a keyword or subject search.

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Frances Hui