Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Multimedia Resources: Audio

This guide is designed to help you find multimedia resources (audio, visual, images) available in the LPC Library as well as selected free websites.

CDs in the LPC Library

The LPC Library owns over 2,000 CDs that you may listen to in the library or check out for one week. CDs are shelved next to the periodicals. The circulation desk staff will pull the discs when you are ready to check them out.

Search the online catalog to find CDs in the library. Type in your search term and "sound recording".

Examples: 

  • classical guitar and sound recording
  • camelot and sound recording
  • sound effects and sound recording

Audiobooks

The LPC Library has a growing collection of audiobooks.

Search the online catalog to find audiobooks in the library. Type in your search term and "sound recording".

Examples: 

  • kite runner and sound recording
  • persuasion and sound recording
  • brave new world and sound recording

Most public libraries have a large collection of audiobooks available in CD format or digitally. Visit your local public library's website to browse its collection.

Streaming Music from the LPC Library Databases

The Audio, Video, and Images Database page lists which LPC databases contain sound recordings.

American Song

Classical Music Library

Contemporary World Music Library

Jazz Music Library

Music Online: Listening

Smithsonian Global Sound

When you first login to your database (see instructions, below), create an account so you can create, edit, and share your playlists.  Streaming service for these music databases is currently available for Apple iPhone/iPad or Android mobile devices on a 3G network or better. Click on Help for instructions.

From the National Jukebox

Login Instructions

Off-campus Access:

Log in with W# and Library Password.

Password: First 2 letters of first name, first 2 letters of last name, and last 4 digits of your W#

Example: jado6789