Article Databases - North Africa and The Sheltering Sky by Paul Bowles (ENG 4 - Sato)

Login Instructions

If you are using any of the library's online databases from off-campus, you will need to log in.

Username: Your W Number*

Password: First 2 letters of first name, first 2 letters of last name, and last 4 digits of W# (i.e. jado6789)

* Don't know your W#, look it up in Class-Web.

To find articles published in journals, magazines, newspapers or other periodicals, you will need to use the library's online databases.

In the following databases, you are likely to find relevant information on topics related to North Africa:

History Databases:

General Reference Information:

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects.

Literature Databases:

Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essays examine great writers, important literary works, memorable characters, historical context, and influential movements and events in world literature.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Includes literary criticism, explication, biographies, bibliographies, and work overviews for 100,000+ novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers.

*Additional databases can be found on the LPC Library website:

Sample Search Terms:

Ask a librarian if you need help developing your search terms.

Searching Tips:

*Use quotation marks around phrases:

example: "Sahara Desert"

*Use connecting (boolean) words such as "and", "or" to connect multiple terms or phrases:

example #1: Morocco AND France

example #2: France AND (Morocco OR Algeria)

example #3: Morocco AND (colonization OR colonialism)