Skip to main content

American Government: Federal, California, Local: Specialized Encyclopedias

This guide will help students in Poli Sci 7 and 12 with research.

Credo Reference Search Box

Credo Logo

Encyclopedias in Reference Collection

Use reference books for background information, broad overviews, and summaries. The reference collection includes general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias, biographies, directories, almanacs, atlases, etc. Many also contain bibliographies for further research.

Reference books cannot be checked out from the library but may be photocopied.

Following are examples of specialized or subject encyclopedias covering U.S. politics and the U.S. legal system:

  • Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
  • A History of the U.S. Political System: Ideas, Interestss, and Institutions  
  • The Encyclopedia of Political Science
  • The Encyclopedia of Politics
  • The Executive Branch of Federal Government
  • The Legislative Branch of Federal Government
  • The Judicial Branch of Federal Government
  • The Executive Branch of State Government
  • The Legislative Branch of State Government
  • The Judicial Branch of State Government
  • Gale Encyclopedia of American Law
  • Great American Court Cases
  • Landmark Supreme Court Cases
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law
  • Trials of the Century: An Encyclopedia of Popular Culture and the Law

Use the LPC Library Catalog to find other encyclopedias by conducting a keyword or subject search.

 

Librarian

Charlotte Bagby's picture
Charlotte Bagby
Contact:
(925) 424-1150
Fall 2018 Ref. Desk hrs:
Wed. 11-4
Ask LPC Library