E-Reference Books
The library has a small collection of electronic reference books.
To use any of the library's E-Reference Books while you are off-campus, you will need to log in.
Username: Your W Number*
Password:
- First 2 letters of first name,
- First 2 letters of last name,
- Last 4 digits of W#
- Example: jado6789
* Don't know your W#, look it up in Class-Web.
E-Reference Materials
Bloom's Literary Reference Online - Features content from Facts On File's extensive print literature reference collection (including essays by Harold Bloom) which examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
Credo Reference - Nearly 4 million full-text entries in subjects from Art to Technology for your research, paper writing and studying needs. Credo brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, videos and much more. Search under the subject Literature for materials on Shakespeare and related topics.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - eReference book collection - Search across all GVRL subject encyclopedias. Subjects covered: arts, environment, general reference, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, and social science. Search under the subject Literature for reference materials on Steinbeck.
Credo Reference Search Box
Encyclopedias in Reference Collection
Use reference books for author's biographical information and broad overviews and summaries of literary themes. This is a list of a some of the recommeded titles in literature.
Novels for StudentsCall Number: Ref PN 3385 N68 v.1-46ISBN: 9781414494890Volume 19 in this set contains a section on East of Eden, which features a biography, plot summary, major characters, themes, literary style, historical context, critical overview, criticism, and bibliography.
The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Fiction by Call Number: Ref PR 881 E48 2011 v. 1-3ISBN: 9781405192446Publication Date: 2011Vol. 2 Twentieth-Century American Fiction has an entry on John Steinbeck.
American Writers by Call Number: Ref. PS129 .A55ISBN: 0684197855Volume 4 in this set contains an article on Steinbeck and his novels.
Encyclopedia of Themes in Literature by Call Number: Ref PR 19 E53 2011 v.1-3ISBN: 9780816071616Publication Date: 2010Vol. 3 covers John Steinbeck and several of his works. Though East of Eden is not specifically covered, there is excellent information on Steinbeck available for comparison or contrast.- Magill's Survey of American Literature byCall Number: Ref. PS21 .M34ISBN: 185435437XVolume 6 in this set gives an overview of the novel.
Literary Themes for Students by Call Number: Ref PS169 .N35 L58 2007Vol. 1 has a section on Steinbeck.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature by Call Number: Ref. PS21 .E537 2004ISBN: 0195156536Publication Date: 2004Good overview of Steinbeck's life including experiences that influenced his writings.
