About Audiovisual
Audiovisual materials include movies, music, and images that can be found physically, in the library, or streaming, through a library database. These materials vary depending on their focus, but can be great at providing overviews and primary documents for your artist.
To find physical audiovisual items in the library, use the library catalog "Worldcat" on the library homepage. To find audiovisual materials in the library databases select one of the audiovisual databases to the right. Once the database is open, search for your artist or historical context keyword, refine your results, capture relevant items, and finally, be sure to enter in the citation information into Noodletools or other citing tool.
Noodletools HINT: Cite audiovisual material by selecting the type of material in Noodletools. Generally, you would use the "video", "image", or "sound recording" options.
Audiovisual Databases
- Films on Demand Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Films and documentaries on a variety of academic disciplines in the arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, and practical skill building. - Music Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Streaming Music – Music Online combines the following databases to allow cross searching of all of the music databases published by Alexander Street Press: African American Song, American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, and Jazz Music Library.
Examples
American Roots Album by Publication Date: 2010Album from the Music Online Database. Contains the songs "Bumble Bee" performed by Big Mama Thornton and "Hard Travelin'" performed by Woody Guthrie.
The Appalachians: A Culture of Survival by Publication Date: 2009Contains a segment (#4) on Appalachian Music: Jimmy Rogers and the Carter Family.