Skip to Main Content

Mythology Resources: Journal Articles

Off Campus Access to Databases

Accessing LPC Library databases from off-campus requires the following information:

 W#

(be sure to include the letter W)

and

8 digit library PIN

(first two letters of first name, first two letters of last name, and last four numbers of your W).

Database Searching Tips

Search terms are important for good results. The computer is looking only for the words in the search box. Generally in the Basic Search mode, the computer is only looking for the search terms in: Title, Abstract and Subject Headings.

Subject Headings are listed after the magazine/journal title information. When a good article is found, look at the Subject Headings. Repeat those terms in your search to find more articles on the same subject.

1) Determine the key words:

2) Use quotation marks around any phrases

3) Look at Subject Headings listed under the Title information

4) Having trouble getting results? Broaden or change your search strategy.

**As always, if you need research assistance, please contact a librarian.  A librarian can suggest further search terms, strategies, or databases to try.**

Databases (Magazines, Journals, e-Books, etc.)

To locate magazines and scholarly/academic journal articles, the following LPC library databases are recommended.

Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCO) - Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. The database offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, making it an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) - Provides full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.

  • Suggestion: Do a keyword search for "mythology, greek" and select "peer-reviewed" under Limit Your Results
  • Under Search Options you can limit your search in order to retrieve materials from peer-reviewed journals or full-text articles. If you are looking for something from a specific publication you can also limit your search by entering the name of the magazine or journal.
  • You may also choose to search the two databases, Academic Search Complete and the Religion and Philosophy Collection at the same time by checking both before clicking continue.

GenderWatch - Full-text database of periodicals and other publications that focus on the impact of gender on culture and society.

  • Suggestion: Do a search for "women and mythology." Select any of the articles listed that are of interest to you

 

Locating Scholarly/Peer-reviewed Journal Articles 

To limit your periodical database search to only include scholarly/academic/peer-reviewed journals, check/select the box labeled "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" within the search interface for the database. 

Or look for the icon in front of the article. Each databases has a specific icon that represents peer-reviewed journals.  This icon is found before each entry.

Also, be sure to check/select the box labeled "Full Text".
This will ensure that you receive full/complete articles in your search results.     

Learn More: What is a scholarly/peer-reviewed journal?