Skip to main content

Library Classes

HTML

Library Classes

Library 4

College Research Techniques (.5 Units)

Introduction to basic research techniques in a college library. Focus on use of the library catalog, search strategies, organization of materials in the library including reference, faculty reserves, circulating books, audiovisuals, use of reference materials, evaluation of relevant resources, recognition of plagiarism, and bibliographic citation of books, audiovisuals, and magazines and journals.

Offered during Fall & Spring Semesters

Meets 3 Fridays from 10am-12:50pm in Fall; Varies during Spring

View Course Guide Go to Class Web

Library 5

College Research and Databases (.5 Units)

Introduction to research techniques in a college library using general research databases. Focus on campus and remote use of multi-disciplinary research databases, search strategies, distinction between scholarly journals and popular magazines, evaluation of relevant resources, recognition of plagiarism, and bibliographic citation of articles from magazine, journal, and newspaper databases.

Offered during Fall Semesters

Meets 3 Fridays from 10am-12:50pm

View Course Guide Go to Class Web

Library 6

Research in Special Subjects

Introduction to college library research techniques in a specific subject area. Focus on campus and remote use of subject databases, emphasis on discipline-specific physical and electronic resources, search strategies, evaluation of relevant resources, distinction between scholarly journals and popular magazines, discussion of plagiarism, and bibliographic citation of materials.

Offered during Spring Semesters

Meets 3 Fridays from 10am-12:50pm

View Course Guide Go to Class Web

Library 7

The Open Web and Search Engines

Introduction to research techniques in a college library using search engines to find materials on the open web. Focus on use of the open web for research purposes, including web search strategies, appropriate search engines and directories, evaluation techniques for web resources, recognition of plagiarism, and bibliographic citation of web resources.

Offered during Spring Semesters

Meets 3 Fridays from 10am-12:50pm

View Course Guide Go to Class Web

Library 8

Research and Information Literacy (2 Units)

Introduction to research techniques using college library resources. Teaches the skills needed to successfully find, evaluate, and document information in print, electronic, and Internet formats. Covers plagiarism, the ethical and legal aspects of information use, and the critical thinking skills necessary for successful college research.

Offered during Fall Semesters

Short term class; See course in Class Web for meeting dates & times

View Course Guide Go to Class Web