Skip to Main Content

Policies

Quick Navigation

Visiting the Library Library Cards Loanable Items & Fees Laptops Renewing Materials
Lost Items Collection Development Reserve Collection Mission & Philosophy Marketing Policy
Confidentiality Technology Plan Distance Education Filming Policy

Visiting the Library

Welcome to your one-stop academic research haven! The library is open to support all your research, study, and educational needs.

Essential Details for Your Visit:

  • Library Hours: We're open and ready to assist you. [View current hours]
  • Study Rooms: Looking for a quiet place to study? [Book a room]
  • Library Classrooms: Open for drop-in student study when class is not in session. Room 2043 is designated as a silent study room.

Library Cards

Your LPC or Chabot ID card is your library card!

Your valid LPC or Chabot student, faculty, or staff ID card works as your library card to check out materials and supports a quick checkout process.

If you are unable to get a student, faculty, or staff ID card, a valid picture ID and a W number will be accepted.

Loanable Items, Overdue Items & Fees

Click here for a complete list of loanable items, fines, and fees.
  • Users may borrow a maximum of ten (10) items, with the exception of course reserves.
  • The LPC Library has adopted a Fine-Free Policy.
  • Students can review and renew items through their library account online.

Laptops & Technology

The library maintains laptops, calculators, Wi-Fi hotspots, and other study support items for semester-long loans.

Renewing & Requesting Materials

Click here for detailed instructions on how to renew or request items

Renewal Methods:

Online Renewal

Use your "My Library Account" when your account is in good standing.

Potential Online Renewal Issues:
  • Reaching maximum renewals (twice)
  • Outstanding fines or charges
  • Account blocks from Admissions and Records
  • Expired borrower record

Telephone Renewal

Call the Library Circulation/Check Out Desk at (925) 424-1151

Non-Renewable Items:

  • Items requested by another patron
  • Non-circulating materials
  • Reserve items
  • Overdue items
  • Interlibrary Loan items

Lost and Damaged Items

  • The library strives to work with each user to determine a reasonable resolution for lost or damaged materials.
  • We follow a guiding principle of equity to ensure all students maintain access to library resources.
  • If needed, the library may seek mediation from the Dean of Business, Social Science, and Learning Resources.

Collection Development

The primary purpose of the Library's collections is to support the educational programs of Las Positas College.

For more information about how the collections are built and maintained, please see our Collection Development Policy.

Instructional Reserve Collection

The reserve collection supports the instructional program by providing library resources directly related to curricular offerings.

Collection Aims:

  1. Provide reserve materials as required or recommended by faculty for student use
  2. Provide controlled use of materials whose format, value, or high demand may make them candidates for theft

Instructional Reserve Policy:

  • Faculty, college personnel, and professional staff may request materials for this collection
  • Space limitations require restrictions on the number of reserves per instructor
  • Multiple instructor requests will default to the shortest reserve period

Mission, Philosophy, & Intellectual Freedom

Mission Statement

The mission of the Las Positas College Library is to promote excellence in information competency, inspire lifelong learning, and strengthen our diverse campus and community.

  1. Excellence in information competency: We teach and work with students, staff, faculty, and community users to develop unique abilities to navigate today's information landscape.
  2. Inspire lifelong learning: We provide free and open access to research materials, tools, spaces, and information.
  3. Strengthen our diverse campus and community: We promote skill development and create safe, reliable spaces for engagement.

Statements of Philosophy & Intellectual Freedom

The Learning Resources Program facilitates and improves learning by supporting and expanding the instructional capabilities of Las Positas College.

Intellectual Freedom Principles for Academic Libraries Resolution Reaffirming the Principles of Intellectual Freedom

Marketing and Solicitation in the Library

To maintain a quiet study environment, the library has specific policies regarding marketing and solicitation.
  • No non-library person or organization may leave materials, hand out flyers, or approach individuals inside the library.
  • Pre-approved flyers and hand-outs may be placed in the library entryway.

Confidentiality of Library Records

All records identifying library patrons and their library materials are confidential.

Records will not be revealed without either:

  • Express written permission from the patron
  • Proper legal and College procedures
View State Privacy Laws Regarding Library Records

LPC Library Technology Plan

The LPC Library adheres to the LPC Technology Department Standards and Policies , as modified to integrate with library services and student access.

Distance Education

The Las Positas College library is committed to making resources, services, and personnel available to users regardless of physical location.

Our commitment includes:

  • Identifying and developing resources for distance learning
  • Meeting standard informational and skills development needs
  • Addressing unique needs of the distance learning community

Filming & Photography Policy

The LPC Library welcomes consensual, non-disruptive filming and photography in public spaces.

Guidelines

  • Casual filming and photography allowed if non-disruptive
  • Activities violating privacy or safety will be stopped
  • Extensive projects require prior approval

Important Notes:

  • Additional restrictions during midterms and finals
  • Private spaces excluded from filming
  • Commercial projects require PR office approval