Primary Sources: Citing Sources

Noodletools (or NoodleTools) is an online system for helping you create your MLA, APA, or Chicago Manual of Style citations and works cited page.

• If you are new to Noodletools, please create your user account. 
• Write down your user name and password!
• Off-campus users: you will need to login twice.  The first is your LPC Library login for getting to the Noodletools homepage.  The second is to login to your own Noodletools account.

MLA

Book

Choose "Lecture, Speech, or Reading" as your Citation Type.

Alternatively, choose "Book" and use "Chapter or Section" for the title of the primary source.

Example:

Cheney, Richard. "The Risks of Inaction are Far Greater Than the Risk of Action." 103rd
        National Convention of the Veterans of Foreign Wars. Nashville, TN.
        26 Aug. 2002. The Iraq War: A Documentary and Reference Guide. By Thomas R.
        Mockaitis. Santa Barbara: Greenwood, 2012. 13-19. Print.

Database

Choose "Letter or Memo" as your Citation Type and select the "Database" tab.

Example:

Jefferson, Thomas. Letter, "The Education of Women," 14 Mar. 1818. Military and
       Government Collection. Web. 8 May 2013.

Web Site

Choose "Historical Manuscript in an Archive" as your Citation Type and select the "Web Site" tab.

Example:

Goodpaster, A. J. "Memorandum of Conference with the President concerning U-2
     Reconnaissance Flights over Russia, October 26, 1959." 30 Oct. 1959. 
     The U-2 Spy Plane Incident. Dwight D. Eisenhower Presidential Lib, Abilene, KS. Box
    15, Subject Series, Alphabetical Subseries, Intelligence Matters
     (13). Dwight D. Eisenhower Presidential Library and Museum. Web. 8 May 2013.
     <http://www.eisenhower.archives.gov/research/online_documents/u2_incident/10_30_
      59_Memo.pdf>.

APA

Book

Choose "Lecture, Speech, or Reading" as your Citation Type.

Alternatively, choose "Book" and use "Chapter or Section" for the title of the primary source.

Example:

Cheney, R. (2012). Excerpt of Vice President Richard Cheney, "The risks of inaction are far
     greater than the risk of action".  In T. R. Mockaitis, The Iraq War: A documentary and
     reference guide (pp. 13-19). Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood.

Database

Choose "Letter or Memo" as your Citation Type and select the "Database" tab.

Example:

Jefferson, T. (1818, March 14). The education of women. Retrieved from Military and
     Government Collection database.

Web Site

Choose "Historical Manuscript in an Archive" as your Citation Type and select the "Web Site" tab.

Example:

Goodpaster, A. J. (1959, October 30). Memorandum of conference with the
     President on October 26, 1959 concerning U-2 reconnaissance flights over
     Russia, dated October 30, 1959. The U-2 Spy Plane Incident (Office of the
     Staff Secretary, Box 15, Subject Series, Alphabetical Subseries,
     Intelligence Matters (13)). Eisenhower Presidential Library and Museum,
     Abiline, KS. Retrieved from http://www.eisenhower.archives.gov/research/
     online_documents/u2_incident/10_30_59_Memo.pdf