Mammals
Selected Internet Resources on Mammals
Borror Lab Home Page - “houses one of the largest collections of recorded animal sounds in the world.” Search by common or scientific name from the “approximately 28,000 recordings of over 1000 species of animals.”
California Academy of Sciences - Steinhart Aquarium, Natural History Museum, Morrison Planetarium: " ...devoted to the study, display and interpretation of scientific collections which inspire people of all ages to explore the rich variety of life on Earth"
California's Wildlife - information on the 600+ amphibians, birds, mammals, and reptiles found in California: including name, distribution, habitat requirements, life history, and bibliography (Zeiner, D.C., ed. California's Wildlife. 1988-1990.
CalPhotos: Animals - "...thousands of photographs of amphibians, birds, fish, insects, invertebrates, mammals, and reptiles." Searchable and browsable. UC, Berkeley.
Comparative Mammalian Brain Collections - "Photographs of brains of over 100 different species of mammals (including humans) representing 17 mammalian orders."
eSkeletons Project - compare the bones of a human, a chimpanzee or baboon: "high-quality images of bones, labels of all muscles, articulations, and morphological features..."
Friends of the Sea Otter - information on sea otters, including sea otter behavior, a California otter range map, California otter census figures since 1982, endangered status ...
Infrared Zoo - features thermal infrared photographs of dozens of animals including birds, mammals, reptiles and amphibians, and insects and arachnids, including an illustrated essay on the differences between warm-blooded and cold-blooded animals
Mammal Species of the World -includes "the names of the 4,629 currently recognized species of mammals, in a taxonomic hierarchy that includes Order, Family, Subfamily, and Genus," based on . Search by common or scientific name, or query the database of scientific synonyms. This database from the (1993 data,American Society of Mammalogists,Smithsonian)
Marine Mammal Center - Northern California non-profit works with rescue, research, and education programs to "recognize human interdependence with marine mammals [and] foster their survival and the conservation of their habitat."
Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary - official site for educational, research, recreational, and visitor information on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary
Museum of Vertebrate Zoology Data Access - database of 600,000+ specimen records and some photographs of amphibians, birds, bird eggs, mammals, and reptiles
The NBII: Your Home for Biological Information on the Web - (National Biological Information Infrastructure) use the NBII to answer a wide range of questions related to the management, use, or conservation of this nation's biological resources.
National Marine Mammal Laboratory's Education Web Site - detailed information on all types of marine mammals, including whales, dolphins, and porpoises. Information on Marine Mammal Science and data about pursuing a career in marine mammal science is also covered
Opossum Society of the United States - dedicated to “North America's only marsupial,” including background information a FAQ, educational materials, photos, and other materials
Otter Project - "the Otter Project exists to promote the rapid recovery of the California sea otter, an indicator of near shore ocean health, by facilitating research and communicating research results to the general public and policy makers"
Pronunciation of Biological Latin: Including Taxonomic Names of Plants and Animals - covers vowels, stress on syllables, commemorative names, and other matters
Vertebrate Flight Exhibit - includes information on types of aerial locomotion (parachuting, gliding, flight, soaring), physics (biomechanics), and evolutionary theory (ground up and trees down scenarios); profiles the origin and evolution of flight in pterosaurs, birds, and bats
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service: National Image Library - images of "wildlife, plants, National Wildlife Refuges and other scenics, as well as wildlife management work"
