Skip to main content

Vietnam War and The Things They Carried by Tim O'Brien: Specialized Encyclopedias

Resources compiled for Elena Cole's English 1A class reading of The Things They Carried by Tim O'Brien.

Encyclopedias in Reference Collection

Use reference books for background information, broad overviews and summaries.

The reference collection includes general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias, biographies, directories, almanacs, atlases, etc.

Many also contain bibliographies for further research.

Reference books cannot be checked out from the library but may be photocopied.


*There are many specialized or subject encyclopedias on the Vietnam WarThis is a list of a few recommeded ones.

Use the LPC Library Catalog to find additional encyclopedias by conducting a keyword or subject search.

Additional Reference Titles

*There are many specialized or subject encyclopedias on the Vietnam War.  This is a list of a few recommeded ones.

Use the LPC Library Catalog to find other encyclopedias by conducting a keyword or subject search.


Encyclopedia of Modern Asia  Ref DS4 L48 2002 (v.6)

Historical Atlas of the Vietnam War  Ref DS557.7 S93 1995

Vietnam War  Ref DS557.7 H556 2001 (v. 1-4)

American Pop: Popular Culture Decade by Decade (1960-1989) Ref E169.1 B7825 2002

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life in America (1940-Present) Ref E169.1 G7553 2009

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture Ref E169.1 S764 2000 (v. 5)

American Decades (1960-1969) Ref E169.12 A4196 1995

Postwar American Ref E169.12 P654 2007

Encyclopedia of American History (1946-1968) Ref E174 E53 2010 (v.9, v. 10)

Dictionary of American History, 3rd Edition Ref E174 D52 2003 (v. 8)

Encyclopedia of War & American Society Ref E181 E634 2006

The Oxford Companion to American Military History Ref E181 O94 1999

War and American Popular Culture Ref E181 W26 1999

Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History (1946-1975) Ref E83 E53 2010 (v. 6)

Anti-Americanism: History, Causes, Themes Ref 183.7 A66 2007 (v.2)

Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy Ref E183.7 E52 2002 (v. 3)

Historical Dictionary of American Propaganda  Ref E183.7 M325 2004

Encyclopedia of Asian American Issues Today Ref E184 A75 E53 2010 (v.2)

Magill’s Encyclopedia of Social Science: Psychology Ref BF31 M33 2003 (v.3)

The Sixties in America Ref E841 S55 1999

Global Perspectives on the United States: A Nation by Nation Survey Ref E895 G56 2007 (v. 2)

Encyclopedia of the World’s Nations  Ref G63 K874 2002 (v.3)

A World Atlas of Military History (1945-1984) Ref G1046 S73 H3 1984

Countries and Their Cultures  Ref GN307 C68 2001 (v.4)

Encyclopedia of the Peoples of Asia and Oceania Ref GN625 W47 2009 (v.2)

CultureGrams World Edition 2010: Asia and Oceania  Ref GT150 C85 2010 (v.4)

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, 2nd Edition  Ref H40 A2 I5 2008 (v.8)

American Countercultures  Ref HM647 A44 2009 (v.3)

Violence in America  Ref HN90 V5 V5474 1999 (v.3)

Political Handbook of Asia 2007  Ref JQ24 P65 2007

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations  Ref JZ1160 N65 2002 (v.4)

 

Ask LPC Library