Skip to main content

Vietnam War and The Things They Carried by Tim O'Brien: Journals, Magazines and Newspaper Articles

Resources compiled for Elena Cole's English 1A class reading of The Things They Carried by Tim O'Brien.

Login Instructions

If you are using any of the library's online databases from off-campus, you will need to log in.

Username: Your W Number*

Password: First 2 letters of first name, first 2 letters of last name, and last 4 digits of W# (i.e. jado6789)

* Don't know your W#, look it up in Class-Web.

Library Research Databases

To find articles published in journals, magazines, and newspapers or other periodicals, you will need to use the library's online databases. 

In the following databases, you are likely to find relevant information on topics related to the Vietnam War:

History Databases:

American History in Video

History Reference Center (EBSCO)

Salem History Online

Country Studies:

Country Watch

Biographies (information about author, important people, etc.):

Biography in Context

Literature (The Things They Carried information and analysis, Tim O'Brien information): 

Literature Resource Center

Controversial Issues (Feelings/opinions about Vietnam War):

CQ Researcher

Opposing Viewpoints

Ethnic News (Vietnamese people, culture, news):

Ethnic NewsWatch

Military Information (Vietnam War strategy, Green Berets, etc):

Military and Government Collection (EBSCO)

Psychological Issues (PTSD, war trauma):

PsycARTICLES (EBSCO)

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)

General Reference Information:

Academic Search Complete

*Additional databases can be found on the LPC Library website:

Databases Listed by Subject

Databases Listed- A to Z

Sample Search Terms

Sample Search Terms:

  • Vietnam
  • "Post Traumatic Stress Disorder" or PTSD
  • "Vietnam War"
  • "Vietnam War" and draft
  • "Gulf of Tonkin"
  • "Geneva Accords"
  • Vietcong
  • "Tim O'Brien"
  • "The Things They Carried"

Ask a librarian if you need help developing your search terms.


Searching Tips:

*Use quotation marks around phrases

(example: "Vietnam War")

*Use connecting (boolean) words such as "and", "or"

(example #1: "Vietnam War" and draft)

(example #2: "Post Traumatic Stress Disorder" or PTSD)

Ask LPC Library