Skip to main content

Chemistry: Web Resources

Guide to library resources on general chemistry and organic chemistry.

Evaluating Websites

The quality of the information you find on the Web varies tremendously so it is always a good idea to check the information against another source. As with all information resources, whether in print or on the Internet, you evaluate its quality based on the following criteria:

  • Accuracy (Is it free from mistakes and errors?)
  • Authority (What are the qualifications of the author?)
  • Objectivity (Is there any strong bias?)
  • Currency (Is the information up to date?)
  • Coverage (To what extent is the topic explored?)

That's just the basics.  Learn more!

Tutorials on Evaluation Criteria

Chemistry Web Resources

MEDLINE Plus Drug Information - information on thousands of prescription and over-the-counter medications is provided through two drug resources

American Chemical Society - pages for chemistry professionals, educators, students at all levels, policy makers; access to print publications of the American Chemical Society, chemistry news, job listings, lesson plans, the "Molecule of the Week", an interactive periodic table...

Atomic Spectra Databases - "database contains critically evaluated NIST (National Institute for Standards and Technology) data for radiative transitions and energy levels in atoms and atomic ions. Data are included for observed transitions of 99 elements and energy levels of 52 elements"
 

Best of the Web Chemistry Links - list of resources for researching chemistry on the Internet

Chemguide: Helping You to Understand Chemistry - designed for students in Great Britain but "should be useful if you are at the beginning of any similar advanced Chemistry course"

Chemistry-Based QuickTime, Shockwave Flash, GIF Animations, and Streaming Audio - a collection of "animations [that] support the teaching of concepts in chemistry in freshman through graduate level courses," including chemiluminescence, electrophoresis, gas chromatography, spectroscopy, etc.

Classic Chemistry - "The principal purpose of this site is to post the texts of several classic papers from the history of chemistry."

Comic Strip Periodic Table - features comic books in which an element is mentioned - right or wrong.

Common Molecules - "Molecules are the smallest collection of atoms of a compound which retains the properties of that material" from the Molecular Structure Database, University of Indiana

DNATUBE: Scientific Video Site - "A non-profit video site which is aiming to be a visual scientific resource for its visitors making scientific concepts easily understandable."

Dynamic Periodic Table - "Includes interactive visualizations, properties, orbitas, isotopes, and compound mixing."

EnvironmentalChemistry.com - "... provides chemistry, environmental and hazardous materials educational resources including a detailed periodic table of elements; articles on chemistry, environmental and hazardous materials issues; a geologic timeline; and much more." Includes a description of the atom, a dictionary and list of hazardous material acronyms, a molar mass calculator, a history of Chernobyl, and images of hazardous materials placards

General Chemistry Online - searchable guide to chemistry that includes hyperlinked notes and guides for first semester chemistry, articles, including a searchable glossary of over 900 terms, a pop-up periodic table, and calculators; 800 common compound names, formulas, structures, and properties

A Heat Transfer Textbook - full text of the 2000 introductory text about "heat and mass transfer" as a PDF file

Highwire Press, Stanford University - to help researchers comprehensively search and gain access to the literature easily -- both journals they regularly read and literature in journals they might otherwise miss -- and to help librarians support their researchers and institutions with more complete and improved services

Internet Chemistry: Oxidation/Reduction - explains how elements react with oxygen to form compounds called oxides, includes examples, such as bleaching, photosynthesis, metabolism, electrochemistry, the "dry cell" battery...

Molecular Universe- information on molecules and molecular systems, including: boundaries and barriers; molecules applied; building in 3 dimensions; molecules of life; models in science; atomic relief; molecular milestones timeline; and molecular mayhem

National Institute of General Medical Sciences - "The mission of the National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) is to support research that increases understanding of life processes and lays the foundation for advances in disease diagnosis, treatment, and prevention. NIGMS-funded researchers seek to answer important scientific questions in fields such as cell biology, biophysics, genetics, developmental biology, pharmacology, physiology, biological chemistry, bioinformatics, computational biology, selected aspects of the behavioral sciences, and specific cross-cutting clinical areas that affect multiple organ systems."

NIST Chemistry WebBook - provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program

Organic Chemistry Resources Worldwide - annotated organic chemistry subject directory (ORGANIC CHEMISTRY)

Periodic Table of the Elements - includes atomic number, symbol, weight, and electron configuration; a brief history of the element and its sources, isotopes, uses, and properties through element 112

Periodic Table of the Elements - a literal periodic table (designed as a wooden table), see more about the element with links to more sites

Theoretical Chemistry: A Self-Guided Introduction for College Students - "A brief introduction to the field...both in a historical context and as it is practiced today. It is also designed to offer practicing chemists and other scientists perspective about how this field can impact their own"

Tox Town: An Interactive Guide to Commonly Encountered Toxic Substances - a colorful, fun site from the National Library of Medicine with very useful links to the EPA, National Safety Council, Agency for Toxic Substances & Disease Registry, Tox FAQs, Hazaradous Substances Data Base (NLM) and PubMed/MEDLINE (includes arsenic, asbestos, carbon monoxide, lead, mercury, ozone, radon, toluene)

Toxicology & Environmental Health (National Library of Medicine) - information portal for resources on these subject areas

United States Patent and Trademark Office - basic role of the PTO is "to promote the progress of science and the useful arts by securing for limited times to inventors the exclusive right to their respective discoveries." Find more information at Patent Information (Stanford University: Swain Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Library) - which links to many patent databases

WebElements - "a high quality source of information on the WWW relating to the periodic table. Currently most information is about the elements themselves but the scope of WebElements will include simple compounds as well in the future" CAS Registry Number Definition

What's That Stuff - chemical composition of 20+ every-day items ranging from self tanners, lipstick, fireworks, cheese whiz, new car smell, toothpaste from the American Chemical Society

 

LPC Chemistry Dept.

LPC Chemistry Department - " ... provide(s) information about the Chemistry program at Las Positas College including its faculty and staff, to answer questions you might have about Chemistry, and to provide links to interesting Chemistry web sites.

Search Engines

Google Advanced Search - Information on educational and governmental websites tend to have more reliable information. In the advance search, along with your search terms, enter .edu or .gov in the box labeled "Search within a site or domain."

Ask LPC Library