Encyclopedias in Reference Collection
Use reference books for background information, broad overviews and summaries. The reference collection includes general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias, biographies, directories, almanacs, atlases, etc. Many also contain bibliographies for further research.
- Reference books cannot be checked out from the library but may be photocopied.
Use the LPC Library Catalog to find other encyclopedias by conducting a keyword or subject search.
Credo Reference
Like the reference section in the library, use Credo Reference database for background information, broad overviews and summaries.
This online version contains nearly 4 million full-text entries in subjects from Art to Technology for your research, paper writing and studying needs. Credo also brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, videos and much more. Use similar search strategies as you would with our online catalog and databases.
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia AmericanaCall Number: Ref AE 5 E333 2005 V.1-30Publication Date: 2004
Inventions and InventorsCall Number: T 20 I59 2002 V. 1-2Publication Date: 2001
There are many reference books or encyclopedias on science and inventions. This is a list of a few recommeded ones:
Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Technology by Call Number: Ref T 9 E462 2005 V.1-2Publication Date: 2005
Science, Technology, and SocietyCall Number: Ref Q 175.5 S35 2001 V.1-2Publication Date: 2001
Science and ScientistsCall Number: Ref Q 180.55 D57 S29 2006 V.1-3Publication Date: 2006
American Women of Science Since 1900 by Call Number: Ref. Q 141 W42 2011 V.1 -3
Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists by Call Number: Ref. Q 141 N73 1995 V.1 - 4
