Skip to Main Content

How To's

Previously know as our tutorials page, our HOW TO's are video overviews to aid in completing a research project. Navigate using the menu below or use the next and previous buttons to view the different videos in order.

Use the video tutorials listed under finding materials to help you find the sources you need to complete your research project.

  1. Using OneSearch is a quick overview of finding sources with the library's OneSearch tool.  OneSearch searches across most of the library's collections at once and will help connect you to books, articles, encyclopedias, and audiovisual items.
  2. Using Credo is a quick and silent video demonstrating how to use Credo to explore a topic, find an encyclopedia entry, and use the database to connect to sources in other databases.
  3. Finding eReference will help you find eReference (online reference) entries on your topic, using the eReference database "Credo Reference."  Reference (ex. encyclopedias & dictionaries) entries are great for getting background information on your topic that you might use  to cite at the beginning of your research project.
  4. Finding Books will help you find books (physical & online) on your topic using the library catalog, WorldCat.  Books, because of their length, offer thorough and in-depth information on your topic that you might use to cite all throughout your research project.
  5. Finding Articles will help you find articles on your topic using the library database, Academic Search Complete.  Articles address narrow and specific aspects of your topic that you might cite in specific parts or paragraphs of your research project.
  6. Finding Scholarly Articles will help you find scholarly articles on your topic using the library database, Academic Search Complete.
  7. Browsing for Daily News Articles Using US Major Dailies shows you how to find news articles for a particular day from a particular publication so that you can browse for articles in the daily news.
  8. How to Find Literary Criticisms demonstrates how to find literary criticisms for your ENG research using Bloom's Literature, Literature Resource Center, and JSTOR.