Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Shakespeare Research and Resources: LPC Databases and Literary Criticism

An overview on conducting research on all things Shakespearean with additional information for Steven Chiolis's Eng 4 (Othello) and Humanities 3 (The Tempest) classes.

Login Instructions

If you are using any of the library's online databases from off-campus, you will need to log in.

Username: Your W Number*

Password:

  • First 2 letters of first name,
  • First 2 letters of last name,
  • Last 4 digits of W#
  • Example: jado6789

* Don't know your W#, look it up in Class-Web.

Online Databases

The LPC Library subscribes to several online databases that contain articles published in magazines and journals.  Scholary journals are a good source of literary criticism.

Literature Resource Center - Includes literary criticism, explication, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews, Web sites, and reading lists.  Information about 100,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers

Bloom's Literary Reference - Features content from Facts On File's extensive print literature reference collection(including essays by Harold Bloom) which examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.

Biography In Context - Biographical information on over 320,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines.

Academic Search Complete - Over 7000 full-text journals and magazines spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study.

Subject Guide