Interior Design: Books and E-Books

Use the Library Catalog to search for books, DVDs and CDs in the LPC and Chabot College collections. 

Sample catalog searches:

The LPC library provides access to a number of eBooks on a variety of subjects. 

Use the LPC Library Catalog to find eBooks by conducting a keyword or subject search for the topic you are researching.

There are many eBooks on Interior Design-related topics.  Here is a list of a few titles:

• The interior design sourcebook
• Lighting for interior design
• Sustainability in interior design
• Drawing for interior design
• Career as an interior designer: homes, offices, hospitals, stores
• Understanding meaningful environments: architectural precedents and the question of identity in creative design
• Color and design
• Interior gardens: designing and constructing green spaces in private and public buildings

**Note: Check for links at the end of sections or chapters for additional sources.**

Reference Books:

Use reference books for background information, broad overviews, and summaries.

There are many specialized or subject encyclopedias on Interior Design-related topics.  This is a list of a few titles:

• Dictionary of Furniture, NK2205.D5 2001
• Elements of Style: A Practical Encyclopedia of Interior Architectural Details, from 1485 to the Present, NA2850.E44 1991
• Encyclopedia of Interior Design, NK1165.E48 1997 V. 1 - 2
• Furniture in History, 3000 B.C.-2000 A.D., NK2270.P56 2003 
• Interior Design Handbook of Professional Practice, NK2116.I58 2002

**Reference Book Tip:

Consult the index in the back of the reference book to check if it contains information on your topic. 

For multiple-volume sets, see the index in the back of the last book/volume in the series.

Sample Books: