Find Journal Articles in Library Databases
To find articles published in journals or other scholarly sources, you will need to use the library's online databases.
- Start with the Best Bets for Sociological Research list and only use Other Recommended Databases as needed.
- SEARCH TIP: Be sure to check the "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" options to narrow your search to academic sources.
Ask a librarian if you need help developing your search terms.
Best Bets for Sociological Research
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowMulti-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects.
-
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowAccess peer-reviewed journals on social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. JSTOR does not contain recently published articles. LPC's subscription includes all 16 JSTOR multi-disciplinary collections: Arts & Sciences I - XV and Life Sciences.
-
Black Studies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowBlack Studies combines several research collections. The Schomburg Studies collection of essays by leading scholars provides a basic introduction to major topics. The Black Studies Periodicals consist of articles from 160+ scholarly journals and current magazines. Additional content includes primary and secondary sources such as historical Black newspapers, archival documents, government materials, videos, and writings by Black intellectuals and leaders.
-
GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowJournal, magazine, and newspaper articles focus on the impact of gender on culture and society, including gender and women's studies, LGBTQ+, sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, etc.
-
Proquest Databases This link opens in a new windowSearch all of our Proquest databases at once (Biological Science Database, GenderWatch, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: U.S. Major Dailies, & US Major Dailies (1980 - current).
Off-Campus Access to Databases +
To use the library's online databases from off-campus, you will need to log in.
Use your MyPortal login credentials (W# and MyPortal password).
For more information about MyPortal login details, visit MyPortal Information.