Start Finding Sources with OneSearch
OneSearch is a broad search across many different subjects, databases, and resources. If you are not finding what you are looking for here, use the box below to hone in on subject-specific resources.
Advanced SearchPowered by 
Not sure which type of source to start with or what to do to search?! Check out the tabs below to search for tips on searching or specific types of information. For more help on how to search, visit the Search Effectively page.
Find Sources
Key Features of Scholarly Books:
- written on a broad subject
easier to read than journal articles, and written for a broad audience- often undergo a peer-review process
- may contain a collection of chapters written by different authors
- contain less recent information, due to the lengthy publication process
easier to read than journal articles, and written for a broad audienceRemember: You may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book!
Where Else to Find eBooks:
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 150,000+ e-books on a broad range of academic subjects. All titles are available with unlimited user access. - Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An online library of reference titles for multi-disciplinary research, including content related to American and world history, biography, health, arts, business, travel, religion, and multicultural studies.
Scholarly (peer-reviewed) Journal Articles:
-
based on research conducted by experts
- add to a growing understanding of a topic by contributing new ideas
Magazine & Newspaper Articles:
- contain reviews, popular opinion, and information on a certain topic geared for the general public
Recommended Databases:
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Over 10,000 magazines and scholarly journals covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from over a thousand scholarly journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. - GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles focus on the impact of gender on culture and society, including gender and women's studies, LGBTQ+, sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, etc. - Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This full text psychology database offers full text coverage for appx. 560 journals. - Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access peer-reviewed journals on social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.
Click on any of the journals below to open the journal up in the database that provides access. If accessing from off-campus, you will need to login with your W ID number before the database will open. Once open, browse by journal issue or search the journal using a keyword.
- AntípodaPublishes research in social & cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, ethnohistory & linguistic anthropology. From Academic Search Complete.
- Genome Biology & EvolutionPeer-reviewed coverage of research at the interface between evolutionary biology and genomics. 12 month embargo. From Academic Search Complete.
- Anthropological ReviewCovers issues in physical anthropology and related fields of science. From Academic Search Complete.
- PloS OneReports on primary research from any scientific discipline. From Academic Search Complete.
- Journal of AnatomyCovers all aspects of normal human and comparative anatomy including applied anatomy, physical anthropology, neurology, endocrinology, and embryology. 12 month delay. From Academic Search Complete.
- Nature GeneticsPresents the latest research across the field, including the Human Genome Project, epigenetics, and technology and chromosome biology. 12 Month Embargo. From Academic Search Complete.
- Anthropology & MedicineAims to expand upon the theory & research linking anthropology with medicine. 12 Month Embargo. From Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection.
- Annals of the New York Academy of SciencesProvides multidisciplinary perspectives on research of current scientific interest with far-reaching implications for the wider scientific community and society at large. 12 month embargo. From Academic Search Complete.
- Nature & CultureEarth & Atmospheric Sciences; Ethnic & Cultural Studies; Life Sciences. 12 Month Embargo. From Academic Search Complete.
- ImmunogeneticsFrom the publisher: immunogenetics of cell interaction, immunogenetics of tissue differentiation and development, phylogeny of alloantigens and of immune response, genetic control of immune response and disease susceptibility, and genetics and biochemistry of alloantigens. 12 Month Embargo. From ProQuest Biological Science Collection.
- Journal of Molecular EvolutionFeatures articles in several fields, including biogenetic evolution, evolution of informational macromolecules, and evolution of genetic control mechanisms, among others. 12 Month Embargo. From Academic Search Complete.
Video
- Films on Demand Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Films and documentaries on a variety of academic disciplines in the arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, and practical skill building.
Selected films and documentary series from Films on Demand:
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes documentaries covering such areas as ethnicity and identity, media and popular culture, gender studies, women and society, and global studies and languages. - Academic Video OnlineA comprehensive video collection covering subject areas such as anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
- Docuseek
Docuseek streams documentaries on social and environmental issues. Includes independent films from renowned leaders in documentary distribution such as Bullfrog, Icarus, BBC, Fanlight, First Run Features, Good Docs, Women Make Movies, etc.
Music
- Music Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Streaming Music – Music Online combines the following databases to allow cross searching of all of the music databases published by Alexander Street Press: African American Song, American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, and Jazz Music Library.
Images
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Now embedded in the Jstor database, Artstor is a digital library of million+ images in the arts, photography, architecture, history and culture with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images available for research and academic purposes. Contributors include museums, photo archives, and artists.
