Science Journal Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects. - Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Suitable for research in botany, microbiology, zoology, and environmental studies. Includes 8,000+ peer-reviewed journals and other publications such as conference proceedings, patents, and technical reports. - Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 550 journals and magazines in nursing, medicine, and allied health disciplines. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. JSTOR does not contain recently published articles. LPC's subscription includes all 16 JSTOR multi-disciplinary collections: Arts & Sciences I - XV and Life Sciences. - MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine. - ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new windowContains Elsevier’s collection of peer-reviewed scholarly journals.
Database Searching Tips
Let's say you want to find an article that discusses research in the area of the effects of stress on the circulatory system. Here are some suggestions to go about doing this:
1) Determine the key words/terms for your search.
Using our example, the key terms would be: stress and "circulatory system"
2) If one of your key words/terms is a phrase, use quotation marks around that phrase.
Example: "circulatory system"
(This will ensure that your search returns articles that are specifically about the circulatory system, not just contain the word "circulatory" or just the word "system".)
3)When searching for an article containing more than one key term, use a connector word such as AND to join the two (or more) terms.
Example: stress and "circulatory system"
(You can use the word AND to connect as many terms/phrases as you like, just be aware that the more connector words you use, the more narrow/limiting your search will be and the less articles you will see displayed in your results. Using a connector word such as OR will conduct a more broad/expanded search.)
4) If you are having trouble locating relevant articles, you may need to broaden or change your search strategy.
Here are a few suggestions that may help with your search:
-Try searching with synonyms (words with similar meanings) of your key terms.
-Try removing one or more of your search terms to broaden your search.
**As always, if you need research assistance, please contact a librarian. A librarian can suggest further search terms, strategies, or databases to try.**