Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOC 11 (Hirose) - Sociology of Gender: Getting Started

1. Explore a Topic

a. Search for current events or recent news related to sociology or society on the web, in a magazine, or on the news.

Examples:

New York Times

The New Yorker

Time magazine

CNN.com

b. Browse library databases that cover current issues and can help you get familiar with an issue or refine your topic . They make a great starting point when you have a general idea of a research topic, but you still need to narrow it down.

Examples:

c. Browse the table of contents, topic outlines, and indexes of subject encyclopedias for ideas. (See #2, below.)

2. Consult Encyclopedias and Reference Sources

  • Use reference books for background information, broad overviews and summaries.
  • The reference collection includes general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias, biographies, directories, almanacs, atlases, etc.
  • Subject encyclopedia articles are signed by contributors who are experts on the topic.
  • Many also contain bibliographies or lists of recommended titles for further research.
  • Reference books cannot be checked out from the library but may be photocopied.

Use the Library Catalog to find other encyclopedias by conducting a keyword or subject search.

 

Advanced Search

Recommended eReference Books

eReference

Finding eReference Video

Off Campus Login Instructions

Log in with your W# and Library Password.

  • Your Library Password is the SAME as your ClassWeb PIN.
  • If you don't know your PIN, go to the college's ClassWeb page, type in your W#, and select "Forgot PIN?".
  • Whenever you change your ClassWeb PIN, it will also automatically update your library password.