Starting your research
STARTING YOUR RESEARCH
Use reference books for background information, broad overviews and summaries.
The reference collection includes general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias, biographies, directories, almanacs, atlases, etc.
Many also contain bibliographies for further research.
Reference books may not be checked out from the library but may be photocopied.
SELECTED REFERENCE BOOKS (IN PRINT)
-
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography
Call Number: Ref TR642 .E5 2006 -
The Focal Encyclopedia of Photography: Digital Imaging, Theory and Applications, History, and Science
Call Number: Ref TR9 .F6 2007
ONLINE REFERENCE
-
Credo ReferenceNearly 4 million full-text reference entries in subjects from Art to Technology for your research, paper writing and studying needs. Credo brings the facts alive with images, videos, and much more.
-
Biography Reference CenterA collection of full-text biographies on notable personalities, past and present, from around the world, including actors, authors, world leaders, inventors, etc.
LOCATING BOOKS IN THE LPC LIBRARY
CALL NUMBERS
The LPC Library, like most academic libraries, uses the Library of Congress classification system (LC).
The following general call numbers/areas of the library are suggested for Photography-related research:
TR is main classification area for books on photography. Browsing the book collection located in the TR section is easy.
In the online catalog, a specific photographer is searched under Author such as Ansel Adams. Discussions of his work or collection of his materials by someone else is searched under Subject. Areas or types of photography are better searched in the catalog under Words and Phrases, such as photojournalism. Photography is a very broad search term that can bring up many titles. Narrowing the search with a more specific subject term is often the best strategy.
Use the Library Catalog to search for titles by subject or words / phrases.
If you wish to browse books on Photography in either the Reference or Circulating collections in the library, go to the call number section beginning with TR.
Advanced Search
Powered by 
SELECTED PRINT BOOK TITLES
This is just a sample list of titles available from the Las Positas College Library.
Use the Library's catalog to locate additional titles.
Books can be checked out using your LPC or Chabot student ID.
-
Photography Speaks: 150 Photographers on Their Art
Call Number: TR185 .P53 2004 -
Icons of Photography: The 20th Century
Call Number: TR653 .F66213 1999 -
Photography: A Cultural History
Call Number: TR15 .M273 2002 -
Original Sources: Art and Archives at the Center for Creative Photography (Univ. of AZ)
Call Number: TR6.U62 T876 2002 -
-
Moments: The Pulitzer Prize-winning Photographs: A Visual Chronicle of our Time
Call Number: TR820 .M66 2006
SELECTED E-BOOK TITLES
Photography Second Edition by ISBN: 9781780670966Publication Date: 2013-05-21A complete introduction to photography, this book is an essential resource for students across the visual arts. This second edition has been extensively updated, with a greater range of visual examples from master photographers and up-to-date information on digital photography.
Basic Photography by ISBN: 9780240515922Publication Date: 2000-08-23'Basic Photography' is a longstanding international bestseller and continues to be the introductory textbook for photography courses throughout the world.
Photography and Landscape by ISBN: 9781841504728Publication Date: 2012-05-15With a focus on the settler societies of the United States and Australia, Photography and Landscape is a new critical account of landscape photography created through a unique collaboration between a photography writer and a landscape photographer. Beginning with the frontier days of the American West, the subsequent century-long popularity of landscape photography is exemplified by images from Carleton Watkins to Ansel Adams, the New Topographics to Richard Misrach, all of whose works are considered here. Along with discussions of other contemporary photographers, this extensively illustrated volume demonstrates the influence of settler societies on landscape photography, in which skilled photographers captured the fascination with and the appeal of the land and its expanse. The latest installment in Intellect's Critical Photography series, Photography and Landscape is a visually striking introduction to one of the most important modes of photography.
Light and Shadow by ISBN: 9781682031407Publication Date: 2017-01-10Studio lighting offers portrait photographers unlimited creative control. Mastering its use requires a specific skill set, however. Fortunately, portrait photography legend Tony Corbell is up to the task of showing readers how to harness its full power. This book is filled with over 150 inspiring and instructive images from a true master of the craft. In these pages, readers will learn step-by-step instructions for gaining mastery over light. Armed with simple strategies for studio lighting, readers can recreate Corbell's award-winning portrait lighting looks with their own clients.
Mastering Composition for Photographers by ISBN: 9781608959815Publication Date: 2016-03-01The success of a photograph depends on more than its subject. For big impact, the photographer must finesse every visual element at his/her disposal to communicate with the viewer. In the right hands, lines (horizontal, vertical, diagonal, curving, radiating, and converging) draw viewers'eyes through the frame in a predictable manner. Color creates a dynamic rhythm or a balance. Depth of field (the area of sharp focus in the image) tells the viewer what is important in the image, where it is that the eye should settle. Of course, even the positioning of the various elements in the scene (the subject, image color, points of strong tonal contrast, and more) help to establish impact.
In this book, Chen describes the compositional rules artists have used for centuries to create high-impact work. With each discussion, images are presented that clearly show how the design strategy was used and how it strengthened the photograph.
Painting with Light by ISBN: 9781682031520Publication Date: 2017-02-14Throw your preconceptions about light-painting out the window and prepare for a Light painting is a classic photography technique that involves selectively illuminating sections of a dark subject by moving a light source (like a flashlight) over the subject during the course of a seconds- or minutes-long exposure. This results in uniquely nuanced depictions with a high level of technical artistry. As Eric Curry shows, however, today's hardware and software allow you to produce light-painting images that are anything but traditional! In this book, you'll learn how to plan and execute nuanced images using simple gear, a whole lot of imagination, and today's powerful postproduction software.
Understanding Photography by ISBN: 9781593278946Publication Date: 2018-12-11Understanding Photography will teach you the core concepts that underlie the magic of digital photography with highly visual, clear, and comprehensive explanations. Topics covered include the fundamentals of exposure, how lens choice affects creative control, digital image characteristics, and how to make the most of natural light. If you yearn to understand the digital photography hobby at a deeper level, or you simply want to take better photos.
The Digital Photography Book by ISBN: 9781681986715Publication Date: 2020-09-08Learn how to take professional-quality photographs using the same tricks today's top photographers use.
The Essence of Photography, 2nd Edition by ISBN: 9781681986357Publication Date: 2021-03-16In this fully revised and greatly expanded second edition of The Essence of Photography, world-renowned photographer and teacher Bruce Barnbaum draws upon 50 years of experience and observation to teach the art of photographic seeing and creativity.
Composition and Photography by ISBN: 9781681987439Publication Date: 2022-07-05Own composition, use composition, and make composition your own in your photographs! Of all the magical elixirs that make up a successful photograph, composition is perhaps the most fundamental, and at the same time the most elusive.
Android Smartphone Photography for Dummies by ISBN: 9781119824909Publication Date: 2021-11-09Taking a photo is as simple as point and click. Taking a good photo takes a bit more know-how, and Android Smartphone Photography For Dummies is your quick-and-easy guide. No matter what model of Android phone you have, this book teaches you to produce high-quality images using the powerhouse camera you carry in your pocket every day. You’ll learn the photography techniques pros use, like how to recognize beautiful outdoor lightning, how to capture moving subjects, and how to make stuff look good
IPhone Photography for Dummies by ISBN: 9781119687795Publication Date: 2020-08-04Create beautiful iPhone photos with the techniques found in this book iPhone Photography For Dummies, shares the expertise of photography workshop instructor Mark Hemmings as he shows readers how to get stunning images using their favorite iPhone.
The Travel Photography Book by ISBN: 9781681987835Publication Date: 2022-03-08Learn how to take professional-quality photographs when you travel, using the same tricks today's top photographers use!
The Complete Guide to Food Photography by ISBN: 9781681988153Publication Date: 2022-09-13The Complete Guide to Food Photography is a visually stunning, eminently useful, and comprehensive resource for creating fantastic food photographs. In this book, professional food photographer Lauren Short teaches you her entire image-making process, as she covers lighting, composition, styling, storytelling, editing, and processing great food photographs.
The Film Photography Handbook, 3rd Edition by ISBN: 9781681989419Publication Date: 2023-05-02Film photography has recently witnessed a significant renaissance--and not just among those who have previously shot with film. Interest in film photography and analog photography has also grown enormously among those who have only ever shot digitally. In The Film Photography Handbook, 3rd Edition, authors Chris Marquardt and Monika Andrae speak to both types of film photographers as they offer an easy-to-understand, complete resource to shooting film.
Photographing Birds by ISBN: 9781681989358Publication Date: 2022-11-15Everything you need to know to get started in bird photography! Whether you're a dedicated and serious birder, a hobbyist bird watcher, or simply a lover of nature, getting great photos of birds is at the top of the list for bird lovers of all kinds.
Color Theory for Dummies by ISBN: 9781119892274Publication Date: 2022-09-07Choose the right colors and color combinations for your projects Color theory is the art and science of using color. Color Theory For Dummies explains, in simple terms, how colors relate to one another and how they can be combined to work together in an aesthetically pleasing way.
Adobe Photoshop Lightroom Classic Classroom in a Book (2023 Release) by ISBN: 9780137983605Publication Date: 2023-04-01Turn hours of image editing into minutes and keep your photography library organized with Lightroom Classic. The fastest, easiest, most comprehensive way to learn Adobe Photoshop Lightroom Classic Classroom in a Book®, the best-selling series of hands-on software training workbooks, offers what no other book or training program does-an official training series from Adobe, developed with the support of Adobe product experts.
Adobe Photoshop Classroom in a Book (2023 Release) by ISBN: 9780137965892Publication Date: 2022-12-16Learn to create and edit images using Adobe Photoshop Adobe Photoshop Classroom in a Book (2023 release) uses real-world, project-based learning to cover the basics and beyond, providing countless tips and techniques to help you become more productive with the program.
Adobe Photoshop and Lightroom Classic Classroom in a Book by ISBN: 9780137652938Publication Date: 2022-07-26Lightroom and Photoshop are integral parts of a photographer's workflow for making great images. Start by importing and organizing your images into collections that make sense for you. Develop your pictures to make the most out of every pixel.
Adobe Photoshop Lightroom Classic for Dummies by ISBN: 9781119873211Publication Date: 2022-05-03Learn to make your digital photos *pop* with easy-to-follow help using AI-powered software from Adobe With no prior photography or editing experience necessary, Adobe Photoshop Lightroom Classic For Dummies delivers a must-have walkthrough for taking your photos to the next level using Adobe's powerful consumer software. You'll learn the fundamentals of opening your pictures, managing your photo library, and fixing common problems--like redeye and poor lighting--before jumping into more advanced topics, like creating slideshows and troubleshooting problems.
The Art, Science, and Craft of Great Landscape Photography by ISBN: 9781681985657Publication Date: 2020-08-25The Art, Science, and Craft of Great Landscape Photography, 2nd Edition teaches photographers how to convert their visual peak experiences--moments of extraordinary natural beauty that evoke a sense of wonder and awe--into stunning images that elicit the same awestruck emotion in their viewers.
TABLE OF CONTENTS Introduction Chapter 1: Photographic Essentials Chapter 2: Landscape Photography Looks So Easy Chapter 3: In Search of Extraordinary Landscapes Chapter 4: Visualization Chapter 5: The Art and Science of Light Chapter 6: The Art and Science of Composing Compelling Images Chapter 7: The Perfect Exposure Chapter 8: Digital Capture and Processing of High-Contrast Scenes Chapter 9: Take a Walk on the Wide Side Chapter 10: The Landscape at Night Chapter 11: The Psychology of the Compelling Landscape Index
The Art of Black and White Photography by ISBN: 9781933952963Publication Date: 2012-01-24Over the last few years, most books on photography have been focused on the new breed of cameras and how to master the digital imaging workflow. In The Art of Black and White Photography, author and photographer Torsten Andreas Hoffmann takes a different approach, focusing on image composition and image capture, with an emphasis on the creative aspects of black and white photography rather than on the digital workflow.
Wide-Angle Photography by ISBN: 9781681983837Publication Date: 2018-08-13The very thing that makes wide-angle photography so compelling also makes it a challenge: While you're sure to capture a vast scene using a wide-angle lens, it can be difficult to direct the viewer's attention when so many elements are included in an image.
Langford's Starting Photography by ISBN: 9780240521107Publication Date: 2008-10-24This established, detailed beginner's guide is the perfect choice if you're looking to develop your knowledge and skills, and take your photography to the next level. This authoritative classic by leading photography writer and lecturer Michael Langford has been refreshed and revised by best-selling photography author Philip Andrews for today's photographers. Strongly focused on digital, but with key references to traditional photography where relevant, offer a full grounding in the topic.
The Art, Science, and Craft of Great Landscape Photography by ISBN: 9781937538477Publication Date: 2015-04-30The Art, Science, and Craft of Great Landscape Photography teaches photographers how to convert their visual peak experiences-moments of extraordinary natural beauty that evoke a sense of wonder and awe-into stunning images that elicit the same awestruck emotion in their viewers.
Photography Careers by ISBN: 9781317673668Publication Date: 2015-12-08Photography Careers offers students an indispensable guide to beginning their professional journeys as photographers. This book presents the variety of career options available to those entering the competitive and comprehensive world of photography. With the insight and advice from industry mavens and the author himself, Photography Careers will help you change the way you evaluate your strengths as an artist and find your place in the photography community. Features include: Interviews with successful young professional photographer in a wide range of photographic specialties, from fashion photography to cinematography, and other industry related fields such as retouching, fine art sales, and photo editing Tips for how to find unique approaches in a saturated market Best practices for student looking at graduate programs, a budding career, and as a personal business
The Concise Focal Encyclopedia of Photography by ISBN: 9780240809984Publication Date: 2007-09-10Defining photography is impossible. Revealing it is another matter, and that's what The Concise Focal Encyclopedia of Photography does, with each turn of the page. History: The technical origins and evolution of photography are half of the story. The other half consists of the ways that cultural forces have transformed photography into a constellation of practices more diverse than any other mode of representation.
The Art of Photography by ISBN: 9781681982106Publication Date: 2017-04-12This is an updated and newly revised edition of the classic book The Art of Photography: An Approach to Personal Expression.
Laboratory Imaging and Photography by ISBN: 9781317593003Publication Date: 2017-01-12Laboratory Imaging and Photography: Best Practices for Photomicrography and More is the definitive guide to the production of scientific images. Inside, the reader will find an overview of the theory and practice of laboratory photography, along with useful approaches to choosing equipment, handling samples, and working with microscopic subjects.
Real World Digital Photography by ISBN: 9780321700995Publication Date: 2010-09-23Whether you're a serious photographer or a hobbyist, the advice and instruction found in this comprehensive, best-selling guide to digital photography will help you advance your skills to produce consistent professional results. Real World Digital Photography addresses the wide range of topics surrounding digital photography, including up-to-date descriptions of the latest camera technologies, expert advice for taking better photographs, and tips and techniques for optimizing images to look their best in print and on the Web.
Digital SLR Cameras and Photography for Dummies by ISBN: 9781118971833Publication Date: 2014-09-15The perennial DSLR bestseller--now expanded with more photography tips Digital SLR Cameras & Photography For Dummies has remained the top-selling book on DSLR photography since the first edition was published. Now in its Fifth Edition, it covers the latest technologies in the world of DSLR cameras and photography to help you master the techniques that will take your digital photography skills to the next level.
Creative DSLR Photography by ISBN: 9780240521015Publication Date: 2009-12-04Amongst the wealth of books aimed at helping you to understand and use your camera equipment and software, Creative DSLR Photographyis a rare gem that focuses on the real art of photography and the creative, design and composition skills needed to take your work to the next level. Beginning with the basics of visualisation and perception, the book gives clear guidance on how to interpret a scene, define a subject and develop a personal style. It covers the key creative factors to be considered pre-capture, whilst shooting and post-capture, taking a practical approach and offering valuable pointers that you can incorporate into workflow immediately to dramatically improve results. Written by two accomplished professional photographers, Creative DSLR Photographyis packed with inspiring images from travel, nature and landscape photography, amongst other genres, and includes pro tips on how these stunning shots were created.
Nature Photography by ISBN: 9780240810164Publication Date: 2008-08-20Have you ever wondered what it is that professional photographers do day in and day out that enables them to take consistently compelling images? Or thought that unravelling the insider secrets of the professionals could inspire you? This book takes a contemporary and innovative approach to revealing the day-to-day habits of the world's most successful wildlife, landscape and macro photographers, divulging the core skills and techniques through which they excel.
Night Photography and Light Painting by ISBN: 9780415718981Publication Date: 2015-07-02Lance Keimig, one of the premier experts on night photography, has put together a comprehensive reference that will show you ways to capture images you never thought possible. This new edition of Night Photography presents the practical techniques of shooting at night alongside theory and history, illustrated with clear, concise examples, and charts and stunning images. From urban night photography to photographing the landscape by starlight or moonlight, from painting your subject with light to creating a subject with light, this book provides a complete guide to digital night photography and light painting.- Photography Second Edition by ISBN: 9781780670966Publication Date: 2013-05-21A complete introduction to photography, this book is an essential resource for students across the visual arts. This second edition has been extensively updated, with a greater range of visual examples from master photographers and up-to-date information on digital photography.
The Enthusiast's Guide to Travel Photography by ISBN: 9781681983448Publication Date: 2018The Enthusiast’s Guide to Travel Photography: 55 Photographic Principles You Need to Know teaches you what you need to know in order to shoot great images when you’re on the road. Chapters are broken down into numbered lessons, with each lesson providing all you need to improve your photography. Photographer and author Jordana Wright covers planning your journey, the gear and equipment you’ll need, and how to shoot great shots of landscapes, details, portraiture, wildlife, urban environments, food, and more.
Theatre and Stage Photography by ISBN: 9781351984300Publication Date: 2017-12-04Documenting theatrical and stage events under the often dramatic lighting designed for the production provides a number of specific photographic challenges, and is unlike most every other branch of photography. Theatre & Stage Photography provides an overview of basic photography as it applies to "available-light" situations, and will move both basic and experienced photographers through the process of accurately capturing both the production process and the resultant performance.
Exploring Color Photography by ISBN: 9780415730921Publication Date: 2015-02-12Robert Hirsch's Exploring Color Photography is the thinking photographer's guide to color imagemaking. Now in its sixth edition, this pioneering text clearly and concisely instructs students and intermediate photographers in the fundamental aesthetic and technical building blocks needed to create thought-provoking digital and analog color photographs.
Outdoor Flash Photography by ISBN: 9781317516545Publication Date: 2017-06-27Maximizing the power of your camera's flash is difficult enough in a studio set-up, but outdoors literally presents a whole new world of challenges. John Gerlach and Barbara Eddy have taken the most asked about subject from their renowned photography workshops and turned it into this guidebook that is sure to inspire your next outdoor shoot, while also saving you time and frustration. Outdoor Flash Photography covers a range of practices from portrait to landscape, including unique strategies that the authors have pioneered through 40 years in the field.
Food Photography by ISBN: 9781681981017Publication Date: 2016-07-22Anyone who has been inspired to take a picture of a great-looking meal knows that creating a successful food photograph is not easy. Though the food may look amazing, the resulting image can often end up mediocre and unappealing. Whether you want to create great food images for your blog or break into the world of commercial food photography, Food Photography is the perfect place to start your journey.
The Complete Guide to Macro and Close-Up Photography by ISBN: 9781681980522Publication Date: 2016-04-29The Complete Guide to Macro and Close-Up Photography is a comprehensive handbook on macro and close-up photography, offering both ambitious beginners and veteran photographers all the information they need to create great macro photographs.
Close up Photography in Nature by ISBN: 9780415835893Publication Date: 2014-09-23Capturing the grandeur of landscapes or mood of a certain natural light is challenging but often the simple details, texture or color evade photographers most of all. In Close Up Photography in Nature, best-selling authors and nature photography pros, John and Barbara Gerlach, share the tips and techniques necessary to successfully photograph the beauty all around you. Topics covered include: advanced flash techniques specific for close up shooting, as well as a discussion on focus stacking strategies and tilt-shift lenses for getting maximum depth-of-field. The Gerlachs also discuss their strategy of mixing flash with natural light when shooting close up, which opens up all sorts of photographic possibilities - opening up shadows, creating shadows, separating the subject from the background, reducing contrast between the subject and the background, improving the color rendition, shooting sharper images, and much more
The Essential Student Guide to Professional Photography by ISBN: 9781138805316Publication Date: 2015-07-14This essential reference for photography students explains how to become part of the professional community. By defining professional photography today, and exploring what is expected of professional photographers, the book demystifies this often-misunderstood and misjudged career track. The easily accessible text provides readers with valuable information, inspiration, and education on topics including developing your photographic voice, finding your area of specialization, exploring the moving image, building a website, and understanding self-presentation, promotion, legal aspects, and marketing. It also features inspirational projects for students to embark on their education in photography.
