Library Catalog
What is OneSearch?
LPC's OneSearch is our new tool that searches most of our collections at once. It provides a single interface to search for library materials including books, articles, videos, and more from our physical collections AND our electronic collections! Most notable is that your searches will include results from not just books and videos, but also now articles! You can also more easily log in to your library account to renew, request, and save items using the same login information as you use in Class Web.
What this means for you:
-
When you search the library catalog from the library home page you will be searching our collection including most of the major library databases.
-
Within OneSearch, use My Account to see your library record and be able to renew items. To log in, use your W# and ClassWeb password.
Primo OneSearch
Advanced Search
Powered by 
Sample Titles Available through LPC Library
These are just some examples of titles we have available through the LPC Library. You can search for more books, ebooks, streaming video and magazine/journal articles using Primo OneSearch as well.
Simon and Schuster's Guide to Rocks and Minerals by
An easy to use field guide that contains everything rock and mineral enthusiasts need to know with more than 1,000 spectacular illustrations--600 in full color! Practical, concise, and easy to use, Simon & Schuster's Guide to Rocks and Minerals contains everything that the rock and mineral enthusiast needs to know. This field guide is divided into two large sections--one devoted to minerals and one to rocks, each prefaced by a comprehensive introduction that discusses formation, chemistry, and more. All 377 entries, beautifully illustrated with color photographs and helpful visual symbols, provide descriptions and practical information about appearance, classification, rarity, crystal formation, mode of occurrence, gravity of mineral, rock chemistry, modal classification fields, formational environments, grain sizes of rocks, and much more. Whether you are a serious collector or an information-seeking amateur, this incomparably beautiful, authoritative guide will prove an invaluable reference.
Call Number: Available at LPC Library ReservesISBN: 0671244175Publication Date: 1978
Philip's Guide to Minerals Rocks & Fossils by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780540074297Publication Date: 1999
Rocks and Fossils: A Visual Guide by
Uncover the intriguing world beneath our feet Rocks and Fossils reveal the state of the planet now and what the future may bring, including clues about the shifting, changing nature of the continents, mountain ranges, oceans, and islands. Rocks and Fossils is a beautifully illustrated book that brings life to the seemingly timeless landscape. It explains geological concepts in relevant and familiar terms. Lively illustrations reveal a vast, hidden world via cross-sections and cutaways with explanatory captions. The book explores the internal engine of our planet -- the liquid iron core unique among terrestrial planets, which is the catalyst for the creation and destruction of land, mountain, and oceans. Rocks and Fossils is organized in six main sections: The Dynamic Earth: the ever-changing nature of the world Ancient Worlds: life from the Precambrian era to the age of humans Key Features: how rocks and fossils form Rocks and Fossils in the Landscape: where to find fossils Minerals: How they form and why some are precious Fossils: signs of life from single-cell organisms to dinosaurs. Rocks and Fossils explains the fossil record to show how prehistoric lifeforms are linked to plants and animals still on Earth. Why did some species survive and others perish? What does the future hold?
Call Number: QE 365 .C4 2005ISBN: 1554070686Publication Date: 2005
Rocks and Minerals of the San Francisco Bay Region by Call Number: QE 375 .C32 B6ISBN: 0520001583Publication Date: 1962
Geological Structures: An Introductory Field Guide by
Geological Structures is an easy-to-use, highly informative photographic field guide that introduces the great variety of geological structures to be found all around us. The authors' beautiful photography, extended captions and accessible text make interpreting and understanding geological structures simple, whether you're an amateur enthusiast keen to learn or a more experienced geologist. The three main rock groups - igneous, metamorphic and sedimentary - and their related structures are each covered in detail, followed by sections focusing on folds and folding, faults and faulting, and unconformities. Structures and related landforms are illustrated in more than 200 detailed colour photographs and their helpful captions assist with identification in the field. Each geological account includes an indication of the structure's formation and provides useful information on how to identify and understand its distinguishing features.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 1472927265Publication Date: 2017
Sample Titles Available through LPC Library
Introducing Geology: A Guide to the World of Rocks by
Our world is made of rock. Although much of the Earth's surface is covered by vegetation, concrete or water, if one digs down far enough solid rock will always be found. Those who live in a landscape where rock outcrops are obvious will have wondered about the kind of rocks they are looking at and how they came to be where they are now.Graham Park's introductory book has swiftly established itself as a key resource for those looking for a straightforward explanation of what geology tells us about the world. Many objects of great beauty and which excite our curiosity, such as crystals or fossils, are to be found by examining rocks. In particular fossils, whilst interesting in themselves, tell us from their context in geological time of biological evolution and these clues give an insight into the origins of life on earth.Copiously illustrated this book is intended for those whose interest in geology has been awakened, perhaps by media coverage of earthquakes or of dinosaurs, and want to know more. It has proved an ideal primer for those considering the study of earth sciences more formally. Technical terms are kept to a minimum and are explained in a glossary.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 1780460759Publication Date: 2018
Igneous Rocks: A Classification and Glossary of Terms by
Decades of field and microscope studies, and more recent quantitative geochemical analyses have resulted in a vast, and sometimes overwhelming, array of nomenclature and terminology associated with igneous rocks. This book presents a complete classification of igneous rocks based on all the recommendations of the International Union of Geological Sciences (IUGS) Subcommission on the Systematics of Igneous Rocks. The glossary of igneous terms has been fully updated since the first edition and now includes 1637 entries, of which 316 are recommended by the Subcommission. Incorporating a comprehensive bibliography of source references for all the terms included in the glossary, this book is an indispensable reference guide for all geologists studying igneous rocks, either in the field or the laboratory. It presents a standardised and widely accepted naming scheme that will allow geologists to interpret terminology in the primary literature and provide formal names for rock samples based on petrographic analyses. It is also supported by a website with downloadable code for chemical classifications.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 052166215XPublication Date: 2002
Encyclopedia of Sediments and Sedimentary Rocks by
This comprehensive, one-volume encyclopedia covers the sedimentological aspects of sediments and sedimentary rocks. It features more than 250 entries by some 180 eminent contributors from all over the world, excellent indices, cross references, and extensive bibliographies.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 1402008724Publication Date: 2005
California Geology by
This interesting book uses plate tectonics as its central theme; it acquaints readers with California geology. Basic principles in the beginning of the book and tables of highlights for each province enable the reader to understand the whole picture of catastrophic national disasters, California history, mining methods, and societal impacts; it brings the lessons of geology closer to the everyday context of California life. KEY TOPICS: After a comprehensive overview of the basic principles of geology, this book then focuses on the geological highlights of California (young volcanoes, deserts, the Mojave Desert, the Sierra Nevada, the Klamath Mountains, water, the Great Valley, the coast Ranges, earthquakes, faults, and seismic safety, the transverse ranges, and the peninsular ranges). The inside back and front covers of the book contain a wealth of readily available information, with comprehensive geologic, fault, relief, and mountain range maps. MARKET: A handy desk reference for geologists, this book is also a source of information for anyone interested in the evolution of California's terrain.
Call Number: QE 89 .H37 2004ISBN: 013100218XPublication Date: 2003
Roadside Geology of Northern and Central California by
California's geology makes headlines when faults shift, volcanoes puff steam, and coastal bluffs fall into the sea. The latest edition of this popular book explores the state's recent rumblings and tremulous past with the aid of full color illustrations. Spectacular photographs showcase multihued rock, from red chert and green serpentinite to blue schist and gray granite. The color geologic road maps, based on the 2010 Geologic Map of California, are detailed and easy to read. The geologic information, particularly for the Klamath Mountains, Modoc Plateau, and northern Sierra Nevada, has been updated to reflect the more recent geologic understanding of these complex areas. For your next road trip, replace your tattered, dog-eared copy of the old edition with this gorgeous new volume.
Call Number: QE 89 .A84 2000ISBN: 9780878426706Publication Date: 2000
Geology for Nongeologists by
Geology for Nongeologists introduces basic concepts in geology: how rocks, minerals, and fossils are classified, how wind, ice, and water have shaped the earth, how mountains are formed, and how volcanoes, geysers, earthquakes, glaciers, and groundwater work to modify the physical structure of Earth. Primarily designed as an information source, and intended to be a non-technical survey for those with little background in science, this book is presented in a reader-friendly style. Written in straightforward and accessible English, this book provides a broad look at a multidisciplinary field that incorporates aspects of biology, chemistry, physics, ecology, geography, meteorology, pedology, and many other areas of science. This book fills the gap between general introductory science texts and advanced environmental science books. Books on the subject are typically geared toward professionals in these fields. This makes undertaking a study of geology daunting to those without a specific background in science. However, this complexity also indicates geology's broad impact. Because geology so widely affects us, sometimes in profound ways, it is important to understand its basic concepts. This book presents information that everyone needs to know about geology and about how science and scientists work. The author uses illustrative problems in terms of commonly used geological parameters, and each chapter ends with a chapter review test. Readers discover a new appreciation for their surroundings and a broader outlook on their environment.
Call Number: QE 31 .S64 2009ISBN: 086587185XPublication Date: 2009
Open Source Textbooks
Introduction to Ocean Science Douglas A. Segar. You can download the entire book or individual chapters.
Introduction to Physical Oceanography Robert Stewart, Texas A&M University. This is meant to be an upper division course. The text is good, and there are a number of great figures.
Logging in from Off-Campus
Off-campus Access:
You automatically have an account with Primo OneSearch. You will also need to use this log in info to access any ebooks, streaming video or articles available through the LPC Library.
Log in with your W# and Library Password.
- Your Library Password is the SAME as your ClassWeb PIN.
- If you don't know your PIN, go to the college's ClassWeb page, type in your W#, and select "Forgot PIN?".
- Whenever you change your ClassWeb PIN, it will also automatically update your library password.