Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EMS (Emergency Medical Services)

A guide to library and internet resources for students in the Emergency Medical Services program

Start Finding Sources with OneSearch

OneSearch is a broad search across many different subjects, databases, and resources. If you are not finding what you are looking for here, use the box below to hone in on subject-specific resources.

Advanced Search

For Circulating materials which may be checked out for two weeks, the location of Stacks appears before the call number.

For Course Textbooks which may be checked out for short periods of time, the location of Reserves appears before the call number.

For Reference materials which may only be used in-house, the location of Reference appears before the call number

Find EMS Sources

Here are some print books pertaining to Anatomy, Physiology, EMS, EMT, and Paramedics:

Literary Criticism

These articles are basically the "bread-and-butter" sources for scholarly research - they're used in every discipline.

Please note that when you first try accessing these resources that you will be prompted to enter your W number and PIN.

Why You Should Use Them:

  • Information is based on research and expertise
  • Information is detailed and focused on a narrow topic
  • The peer-review process (mostly) insures that the information is accurate
  • They add to a growing understanding of a topic by contributing new ideas

Find Articles:

Use the A-Z List of Databases link to view and access databases which LPC Library provides.
- The best databases to use for EMS articles are:

Academic Search Ultimate
An academic multi-disciplinary database providing access to over 10,000 magazines and scholarly journals covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects.

Medline
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
An academic database to use for nursing and allied health science articles. Many full-text general medical journals can be found here.

The Merck Index 
Contains over 11,000 entries (referred to as monographs) mostly for single substances and related compounds (isomers, salts, etc.). Some families of natural products and biological substances are included as well. Data provided include chemical, generic, and brand names; CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) registry numbers; physical data and literature references; structures and stereochemistry; toxicity; and information on therapeutic and non-medicinal uses.

Credo Reference
Nearly 4 million full-text reference entries in subjects from Art to Technology for your research, paper writing and studying needs. Credo brings the facts alive with images, videos, and much more.

Biological Science Collection
This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and aspects of agriculture and veterinary science monitoring literature from over 8,000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and books and patents.

CHEMnetBASE
A collection of Cutting-Edge Interactive Databases and Dictionaries; including the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, Combined Chemical Dictionary, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs, and more!

JSTOR
Contains articles from over a thousand scholarly journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Full text articles are available from each journal starting from its first issue (sometimes going back over 100 years) until five years ago. JSTOR does not contain recently published articles. LPC's subscription includes 16 of JSTOR’s multi-disciplinary collections: Arts & Sciences I - XV and Life Sciences

SAGE Journals Premier Collection
SAGE publishes peer-reviewed journals in the fields of education, psychology, criminology, nursing, allied health, sociology, political science, gender studies, communication, and others. Coverage includes articles from 1999 to present.
Not all Sage content is available in LPC's subscription. To find only LPC accessible articles, select "Advanced " under search box. Type in your keywords AND select the option "Only content to which I have full access".

Science Online
Provides a collection of reference sources including books, images, videos, and primary sources about the people, events, and topics important to the study of a broad range of scientific disciplines.

ScienceDirect College Edition
Contains Elsevier’s collection of peer-reviewed scholarly journals.

Browsable Magazines and Journals containing articles on Emergency Medical Services
Please note that you will need to use your WID number and PIN to access these titles.

The American Journal of Emergency Medicine

Annals of Emergency Medicine

The Journal of Emergency Medicine

Resuscitation

Trauma Reports

Newspaper databases

Newspaper Source Plus
Includes more than 700 full-text regional, national, and international newspapers, providing more than 33 million full-text articles.

Online journals which provide free access to some articles

Look for the Open Access  icon for articles with free access

Prehospital and Disaster Medicine

Depending on the assignment you are working on, videos and documentaries can be valuable resources.  We have a wealth of streaming videos on many topics in the field of psychology available through our video databases.

Where to Find Videos and Documentaries:

  • Films on Demand Streaming Videos  Best Bet

    Films and documentaries on a variety of topics in the fields of humanities, sociology, administration of justice, psychology, health, etc.

  • Academic Video Online   A comprehensive video collection of 67,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Includes a variety of content-types such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.

  • Credo Reference 

    Nearly 4 million full-text reference entries in subjects from Art to Technology for your research, paper writing and studying needs. Credo brings the facts alive with images, videos, and much more.

  • Kanopy Streaming Video 

    Streaming Videos –Educational videos covering a variety of topics.

Below you will find direct links to streaming videos on topics related to EMS.