Access Research Without Barriers
$30+ articles are FREE through the library!
On Campus:
- Direct access to all databases and resources
- No login required while on campus wifi
Off Campus:
- Login with your W# and MyPortal password when prompted
- Look for LPC Links button in Google Scholar
- Use library databases to avoid paywalls
Finding Databases:
- Go to library website → Click "Databases" in menu
- Select from featured list or click "View A-Z List" for all databases
- Login when prompted for off-campus access
OneSearch Power Tools
Key Features:
- Filtering: Use left sidebar to narrow by date, source type, subject
- Full Text: Look for "Full Text Online" or PDF/HTML links
- Saving: Login to save items to your "Favorites"
- Requesting: Use "Request" button for unavailable items
Key Databases for this Project
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowMulti-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowNonpartisan reporting and analysis of current controversial social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Weekly issues are devoted to a single topic and feature an overview, background, chronology, current situation, outlook, and bibliography.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. JSTOR does not contain recently published articles. LPC's subscription includes all 16 JSTOR multi-disciplinary collections: Arts & Sciences I - XV and Life Sciences.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowLPC students and employees can sign up for free access to the NYT, which includes the daily news, archives, and the NYT Cooking app.
- Proquest Databases This link opens in a new windowSearch all of our Proquest databases at once (Biological Science Database, GenderWatch, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: U.S. Major Dailies, & US Major Dailies (1980 - current).
