Login Instructions
If you are using any of the library's online databases from off-campus, you will need to log in.
Off-campus Access:
Log in with your W# and Library Password.
- Your Library Password is the SAME as your ClassWeb PIN.
- If you don't know your PIN, go to the college's ClassWeb page, type in your W#, and select "Forgot PIN?".
- Whenever you change your ClassWeb PIN, it will also automatically update your library password.
Journals, Magazines, & Newspapers in Library Databases
To find articles published in magazines, journals, newspapers or other periodicals, you will need to use the library's online databases. You are likely to find relevant information on the topic of animals and animal behavior in the following database(s):
TIP: Select the "Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journal" option to find those articles published in scholarly journals.
Sample search terms:
- "squirrels"
- "squirrels and foraging behavior"
- "squirrels and animal communication
Ask a librarian if you need help developing your search terms.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects. - Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Suitable for research in botany, microbiology, zoology, and environmental studies. Includes 8,000+ peer-reviewed journals and other publications such as conference proceedings, patents, and technical reports. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. JSTOR does not contain recently published articles. LPC's subscription includes all 16 JSTOR multi-disciplinary collections: Arts & Sciences I - XV and Life Sciences. - ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new windowContains Elsevier’s collection of peer-reviewed scholarly journals.
Other Journal Databases
PL0S: Public Library of Science Journals: Biology - Users are free to read, copy, distribute, and enjoy the first-rate content without limits and at no charge. Crediting the author and original source is all that is required in return.
SORA: Searchable Ornithological Research Archive - "An open access electronic journal archive and is the product of a collaboration between the American Ornithologists Union, the Cooper Ornithological Society, the Association of Field Ornithologists, the Wilson Ornithological Society and the University of New Mexico libraries. The content is available in searchable and browseable formats and documents can be downloaded as pdf or djvu files."
BioMed Central - Contains 222 full-text online journals on various scienitific topics including zoology, biology, and ecology.
The Journal of Experimental Biology - free full-text online journal in comparative animal physiology. It covers the form and function of living organisms at all levels of biological organisation, from the molecular and subcellular to the integrated whole animal. The authors include scientists who study molecular, cellular and organismal physiology in an evolutionarily and environmentally based context. Coverage dates from 1923 to present.