Online Videos
- American History in Video This link opens in a new windowStreaming video collection for the study of American history through the lens of documentaries, archival footage, and newsreels. Content providers include Ken Burns, PBS, Bullfrog, and The History Channel.
- Films on Demand Streaming Videos This link opens in a new windowFilms and documentaries on a variety of academic disciplines in the arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, and practical skill building.
Off-Campus Access to Databases +
To use the library's online databases from off-campus, you will need to log in.
Use your MyPortal login credentials (W# and MyPortal password).
For more information about MyPortal login details, visit MyPortal Information.
Look for More
Use the online catalog to find more DVDs and videos in the library.
Type in your search term and check the box(es) under "Video" in the Format section on the left side of the page.
Music and Art
The LPC Library collection includes a large CD collection that contain music of all genres. Search the library catalog for specific artists or styles attributed different cultural groups.
Also, you may choose to listen to streaming music available through the LPC Library. The streaming music collection is searchable by artist, ethnicity, and geography.
To add visual interest to your presentations and to help illustrate your point, you may want to search ARTstor for historical photographs, images, and artwork.
- Music Online This link opens in a new windowStreaming Music – Music Online combines the following databases to allow cross searching of all of the music databases published by Alexander Street Press: African American Song, American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, and Jazz Music Library.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowNow embedded in the Jstor database, Artstor is a digital library of million+ images in the arts, photography, architecture, history and culture with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images available for research and academic purposes. Contributors include museums, photo archives, and artists.
DVDs
A sample of documentaries and films available in the LPC Library:
Coming Out, Coming Home DVD HQ76.25 C66 2005
A History of Native Americans DVD E77.4 H57 2007
Eyes on the Prize DVD E185.615 E942 2006
Merritt College: Home of the Black Panthers DVD E185.65 M47 2008
Becoming American: The Chinese Experience DVD E184 C5 B43 2003
Check Out DVDs
DVDs are shelved along the north wall of the library. The circulation desk staff will pull the discs when you are ready to check them out.
DVDs have a one-week loan period.