Periodical Databases in the Library
To find articles published in academic journals, magazines, and newspapers, use the library's online periodical databases. In the following databases, you are likely to find relevant information on the topic of ethnic and cultural groups, their history and culture, issues, and contributions.
Academic Journals and Magazine Articles
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects. - Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access peer-reviewed journals on social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology. - GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles focus on the impact of gender on culture and society, including gender and women's studies, LGBTQ+, sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, etc. - Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly journal articles on world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. JSTOR does not contain recently published articles. LPC's subscription includes all 16 JSTOR multi-disciplinary collections: Arts & Sciences I - XV and Life Sciences. - PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles published by the American Psychological Association (APA). - Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. - Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly journals in the political sciences including comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations, and political theory.
Newspapers Articles
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowAccess five major US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Archives go back to the 1980s and new content is available by 8am each day.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowLPC students and employees can sign up for free access to the NYT, which includes the daily news, archives, and the NYT Cooking app.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes regional, national, and international newspapers.
Search Terms and Tips
Tips:
Use only the keywords from your research question. Do not type in a whole phrase, question, or thesis statement.
- Example: DON'T = The lack of group cohesiveness of Asian Americans results in low voter turnout.
- Example: DO = Asian Americans and voter turnout
Add more key words if you get too many results; connect the terms with AND.
- Women
- Women and education
- Women and education and Afghanistan
Try different related words or synonyms.
- Example: Hispanic Americans; Latinos; LatinX, Chicanos, etc.
- Example: Voter turnout, voter participation, elections, political participation, politicians, elected officials, etc.
Use quotation marks around multi-word terms/phrases.
- Example: "Interracial Marriage", "Japanese Americans", "African Americans"
Try truncating your keywords. Most databases have advanced features such truncation to allow for searching variant spellings or word endings.
- By adding the database's truncation symbol such as an asterisk* in an Academic Search Ultimate, the results are broadened to include more related terms.
- Example: neighbor*
- Results will include neighbor, neighbors, neighboring, neighborhood, etc.
Learn to Distinguish Periodical Types
Login Instructions
If you are using any of the library's online databases from off-campus, you will need to log in.
Username: Your W Number*
Password: First 2 letters of first name, first 2 letters of last name, and last 4 digits of W# (i.e. jado6789)
* Don't know your W#, look it up in Class-Web.