Off-Campus Access to Databases +
To use the library's online databases from off-campus, you will need to log in.
Use your MyPortal login credentials (W# and MyPortal password).
For more information about MyPortal login details, visit MyPortal Information.
Library Research Databases
To find articles published in journals, magazines, and newspapers or other periodicals, you will need to use the library's online databases.
In the following databases, you are likely to find relevant information on topics related to business ethics.
Controversial Issues (pro/con research articles):
-
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Understand today’s criticial issues by exploring hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Presented in a balanced, pro/con format, each article presents the key facts, arguments, history, and current context.
-
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowCovers current controversial issues in pro/con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to Web sites, and magazine and newspaper articles.
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Nonpartisan reporting and analysis of current controversial social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Weekly issues are devoted to a single topic and feature an overview, background, chronology, current situation, outlook, and bibliography.
Newspaper Articles:
-
Access World News This link opens in a new windowNews from the Bay Area, state, national, and international sources. Suitable for research reports on current events and issues. Can be used to find primary sources for the historical development of a topic.
-
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowIncludes regional, national, and international newspapers.
-
New York Times This link opens in a new windowLPC students and employees can sign up for free access to the NYT, which includes the daily news, archives, and the NYT Cooking app.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFind business and legal sources, including international, national, and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, and non-English language news services. The Company Dossier module contains detailed company information and financial performance measures, and the ability to identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. Shepard's Citations contains all federal and state court cases 1789-present.
-
Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowProvides articles from 80 regional business publications, covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
-
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowAccess five major US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Archives go back to the 1980s and new content is available by 8am each day.
Additional Research:
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowMulti-subject database includes 10,000+ peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications covering a range of academic disciplines and current issues. Suitable for most research projects.
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowIncludes key business sources such as scholarly journals, SWOT analyses, industry and company profiles, market research reports, and product reviews.
*More databases can be found on the LPC Library website:
Sample Search Terms
Sample Search Terms:
- business ethics
- corporate social responsibility
- ethical behavior
- corporate ethics
Ask a librarian if you need help developing your search terms.
Searching Tips:
Use quotation marks around phrases:
example: "corporate social responsibility"
Use connecting (boolean) words such as "AND", "OR": [AND = limits search; OR = expands search]
example: ethics AND corporations
ethics AND (corporation OR business)