Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Administration of Justice: Database Articles

Sources for Administration of Justice research assignments.

Off Campus Access to Databases

Accessing LPC Library databases from off-campus requires the following information:

 W#

(be sure to include the letter W)

and

Class-Web PIN

 

Magazine/Journal Research

To locate magazines and scholarly/academic journal research articles on administration of justice-related topics, use the LPC library databases listed below:

> Academic Search Ultimate

CQ Researcher

> Ethnic Newswatch

>  Gender Watch

>  Newspaper Source Plus

> Opposing Viewpoints


**Database Tip: Locating Scholarly/Peer-reviewed Journal articles

To limit your database search to only scholarly/academic/peer-reviewed journals, check/select the box labeled "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" within the search interface for the database. 

To learn more, please visit the page, What is a scholarly/peer-reviewed journal?

Also, be sure to check/select the box labeled "Full Text".
This will ensure that you receive full/complete articles in your search results.

**Note: Check for links at the end of articles for additional sources.**


Database Searching Tips

Search terms are important for good results. The computer is looking only for the words in the search box. Generally in the Basic Search mode, the computer is only looking for the search terms in: Title, Abstract and Subject Headings.

Subject Headings are listed after the magazine/journal title information. When a good article is found, look at the Subject Headings. Repeat those terms in your search to find more articles on the same subject.

1) Determine the key words

2) Use quotation marks around any phrases

3) Look at Subject Headings listed under the Title information

4) Having trouble getting results? Broaden or change your search strategy.


**As always, if you need research assistance, please contact an LPC librarianA librarian can suggest further search terms, strategies, or databases to try.**