E-Reference Materials
Asian American Chronology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780313348761Publication Date: 2009Chronologically organized entries by topic allow readers to trace the history and development of Asian peoples and culture in the United States.
Encyclopedia of Prisoners of War and Internment by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1576074110Publication Date: 2002Nearly 300 entries that survey the history of prisoners of war and interned civilians from the earliest times to the present, with emphasis on the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
To use any of the library's E-Reference Books while you are off-campus, you will need to log in.
Username: Your W Number*
Password:
- First 2 letters of first name,
- First 2 letters of last name,
- Last 4 digits of W#
- Example: jado6789
* Don't know your W#, look it up in Class-Web.
Credo Reference - Nearly 4 million full-text entries in subjects from Art to Technology for your research, paper writing and studying needs. Credo brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, videos and much more. Enter "Japanese Internment" in the search field to access reference articles and links to materials throughout our print and electronic collection.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - eReference book collection - Search across all GVRL subject encyclopedias. Subjects covered: arts, environment, general reference, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, and social science. Search under the subject Literature for reference materials on the Japanese Internment.
Salem History Online - eReference book collection
- Encyclopedia of American Immigration
- The Decades: 20s, 30s, 40s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s
- Great Events from History: 17th, 18th, 19th, and GLBT Events
Encyclopedia of Japanese American Internment by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780313399169Publication Date: 2013This book addresses the forced removal and confinement of Japanese Americans during World War II. It provides a comprehensive, accessible treatment of the events of Japanese American internment that includes topical, event, and biographical entries; a chronology and comprehensive bibliography; and primary documents that help bring the event to life for readers and promote inquiry and critical thinking.
Materials in the LPC Reference Collection
- History Behind the Headlines: The Origin of Conflicts Worldwide, Volume 5 byCall Number: Ref. D410 .H57Publication Date: 2002"Civil Rights Suspended: Japanese American Internment." Compares treatment of German, Italian, and Japanese Americans in U.S. during War, p. 45-46.
Japanese American Internment During World War II by Call Number: D769.8.A6 N4 2002ISBN: 031331375XPublication Date: 2002Interpretive essays examine: The Japanese in America before World War II; Evacuation; Life within Barbed Wire; The Question of Loyalty: Japanese Americans in the Military and Draft Resisters; Legal Challenges to the Evacuation and Internment; and After the War: Resettlement and Redress.
Also included are several primary documents, a photographic essay and a glossary.
Encyclopedia of Japanese Descendants in the Americas by Call Number: Ref. E29.J3 E53 2002ISBN: 0759101493Publication Date: 2002Comprehensive guide of the history of Japanese immigrants in the Western Hemisphere. The Nikkei (people of Japanese descent and their descendants) are described from early immigration to the present as they settled in the countries of Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, and the United States.
American Decades 1940-1949 by Call Number: Ref. E169.12 .A4194 1995ISBN: 0810357267Publication Date: 1995"Government and Politics: America at War: The Internment of Japanese Americans," p. 240-241.
"Law and Justice Overview: The Worst and the Best," p. 296. "Law and Justice: Internment of Japanese Americans," p. 304-306. "Law and Justice: Fred Toyosaburo Korematsu," p. 318. "Lifestyles and Social Trends Overview: Internment of Japanese Americans." p. 332. "Lifestyles and Social Trends Topics in the News: Race Relations: 'A Jap's a Jap,' Loss of Rights and Property, Internment." p. 341-343.
Encyclopedia of U. S. Political History by Call Number: Ref. E183 .E53 2010ISBN: 9780872893207Publication Date: 2010Volume 5: "Japanese-American Relocation" p. 197-202
American Immigrant Cultures: Builders of a Nation by Call Number: Ref. E184.A1 A63448 1997ISBN: 0028972082Publication Date: 1997Maki, Mitchell T. "Japanese: The Nisei, Wartime Incarceration, Japanese Americans in the Military, After World War II, The Civil Liberties Act of 1988," p. 496-505.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America by Call Number: Ref. E184.A1 G15 1999ISBN: 0787639907Publication Date: 1999Volume 2: Japanese Americans: Overview of the Times; Executive Order 9066; Public Law 503; Civil Liberties Act of 1988: Restitution for World War II Internment of Japanese-Americans and Aleuts; and Identification records: "Alien Enemy or Prisoner of War," p. 409-415
Encyclopedia of Japanese American History by Call Number: Ref. E184.J3 E53 2001ISBN: 0816040931Publication Date: 2001Use the index to find internment camps, concentration camps, Japanese American Citizens League (many subtopics on internment under JACL), Japanese American Evacuation and Resettlement Study, Japanese American Evacuation Claims Act, Japanese American soldiers, World War II (442nd, 522nd, "Go for broke," and many other subtopics on internment).- Asian American Voices byCall Number: Ref. E184.O6 A842 1997ISBN: 0810396912Publication Date: 1997Read the section on Japanese American Internment for issues related to World War II, the U.S. Constitution, the armed forces, civil rights, ethnic stereotyping, social unrest, discrimination, p. 63-207.
Use the excellent table of contents or index to find these topics. - Encyclopedia of Family Life byCall Number: Ref. HQ534 .E53 1999ISBN: 0893569402Publication Date: 1999Volume 3: "Japanese Americans: World War II Internment," p. 782-786.
Childhood in America by Call Number: Ref. HQ792.U5 R345 2002ISBN: 0816044384Publication Date: 2002"World War II: Children on the American Home Front: 1939-1945: Forced Exclusion," p. 219-222.
Great American Court Cases Series by Call Number: Ref. KF385.A4 G68 1999ISBN: 0787629472Publication Date: 1999Volume III: Equal Protection and Family Law. "Hirabayashi v. United States," p. 93-99.
