Reference Materials
Once you have chosen a topic, you will want to do some background reading in reference books. In particular, subject-specific encyclopedias will get you familiar with your topic and help you find the following:
- general overviews and summaries of topics
- outlines of topics in thematic outlines or subject guides
- important terminology and keywords to use when searching electronic resources such as the book catalog, periodical databases, and the web
eReference Databases
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias on different subjects to help jump-start research projects with topic guides, images, and videos. - Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An online library of reference titles for multi-disciplinary research, including content related to American and world history, biography, health, arts, business, travel, religion, and multicultural studies.
Sample search terms (broad):
"social grooming" AND primates
eReference Books
- Birds of North America*Off-Campus Login: Username/Password = LPCZoology/LPCZoology
*BNA Online provides comprehensive life histories for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in the USA (including Hawaii) and Canada. Includes image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, and recordings of songs and calls.
Magill's Encyclopedia of Science: Animal LifePublication Date: 2001- The Princeton Encyclopedia of MammalsPublication Date: 2009
Print Reference Books
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, 2nd ed.Call Number: Ref. QL7 .G7813 2003 v. 1-17
Handbook of the Birds of the WorldCall Number: Ref. QL673 .H265 1992-2011 v. 1-16
Walker's Mammals of the WorldCall Number: Ref. QL703 .W222 1999
Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior by Call Number: Ref. QL750.3 .E53 2004
Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior by Call Number: Ref. QL750.3 .E53 2010
